awkward love

love 2Yesterday, while standing in line for seafood, a gentleman next to me, asked, “when’s dinner ?”  I said, “Friday night.  Would you care to join us?”  He said um, no thanks, it would be awkward.  Then he went on to say that his first Valentine’s dinner with his wife of 38 years was at a restaurant that had overbooked tables and  he and his wife to be had been asked to share a table with a couple that they had never met before.  I said,  “romantic”?  He said, “Awkward.”  He told me from then on, he tries to avoid awkward at all costs on Valentine’s day with his wife.
Good call.  Probably one of the reasons he has been married for 38 years.
While looking through some of the blogs I follow, this morning Jenny’s spoke to me… http://prairiecalifornian.com/challenges-loves/
 I found this quote via this article by Matt Walsh on the Huffington Post.

“Your worst is your worst. Fix it. Be better. Nobody should have to put up with it. Least of all the people you love.    Love is a transformative force, and if you want to experience it you better be ready to change in every way imaginable. My wife does not “accept me,” and thank God for that. She challenges me. She makes me better. In other words, she loves me.”  love 3

As we roll along towards Valentine’s day, and imagine this love filled world,  the above quote is a whole banquet of food for thought.

I have a nasty habit of not putting the lids on things tight, when I put them back into the cupboard. That means spices, vitamins, jars of pickles etc.  As you can surmise it has caused some friction in our happy home.

Before coming into our home, I have a habit of leaving my shoes or boots on the floor, exactly where I take them off.  Later in the day, I go around and tidy up all the loose ends.  In the mean time, work boots get kicked off in the mud room and “other people” may on occasion trip over said foot ware.

I have an annoying habit of leaving 5 crackers in the bottom of the package.  I leave less than a handful of tortilla chips in a bag.  I have no idea why. I guess I think I may come back and eat those for a small snack.

 …Fix it.  Be better. 

I am going to try and be better about the things that I know annoy Mr. Right.  No, he rarely says anything about it.  I just get a feeling that his life might be a be sweeter if I made an effort to be better.

In the name of love…………I am going try to be better.love 4