Uncategorized

one word

I love this idea.  I learned about this project on the blog “the Lettered Cottage”.  One of my favorites to visit almost daily.  Layla is a sweet, charming, kind soul who always makes me smile and after reading her blogs always, always makes me think.

Choosing one word a year, instead of a list of resolutions.  A word to refer to.  A word to process for the entire year.  I am going to join the party and focus on one word for the entire year.

She says it just sort of comes to you.  I have no idea why, but I chose my word.  bloom.    I like the sound of it.  I see huge possibilities.  I want to use it and work on it and savor it.

This seems like a lovely year long homework assignment.  If you decide to jump in as well, I would love to hear your word.  Words are so very powerful.  This is exciting to me.  Just head over heels in love with this idea.   

The action of choosing a word (or having a word find you) is full of potential and possibility. And here’s one thing that’s totally interesting: sometimes a word pops into your brain and it doesn’t make any sense right now. Give it some time. Let it percolate a bit. I have often found that our hearts speak to us in very unique ways. Maybe it’s a word you need to hear, but you just aren’t ready for it yet. Again, be open to the possibilities.    To read more on Layla’s blog go here:  http://theletteredcottage.net/word-of-the-year-link-party-2012/

“The most precious gift we can offer others is our presence.  When mindfulness embraces those we love, they will bloom like flowers.”

3 thoughts on “one word”

  1. Think I will join in also. I’m going to try and have a word “come to me” I’ll let you know when it does:)

  2. WelI I tried to come up with a word. I thought and thought and tried some out.
    Then, when I was in the shower not thinking about it, the “word” came ot me, It just felt right.
    So, here it is. BALANCE. That’s my word.

  3. I’ve been thinking about this and suddenly, out of the blue, as I was driving to work, the word SHARE came to mind…I like it!

Comments are closed.