Uncategorized

Tuesday’s Treats

When I was a little girl around the age of 5, my sisters and I had matching aprons.  They were our soup aprons.  We were told little girls wore soup aprons when they ate soup.   Ours had pale flowers all over them with pink piping.

My mother would go bowling once a week on Tuesday evenings with the neighbor lady.  My Dad was a policeman at the time, so sometimes we would have this really nice lady come stay with us, because he was working.  She was the one who sewed us matching aprons.  She was also the lady who put peanut butter in my curly hair to try to get a tangled hair brush out…..but that is a whole other can of worms……………….

My mother loved, loved, loved black bean soup.  I don’t think little girls often asked for Black Bean soup.  We did.  Always when it was soup time.  My mother used Campbell’s soup.  We now know that no human should eat Campbell’s soup at least not today with all the chemicals and additives and colorings.

A few years ago, I found a recipe and it took me right back to my pink apron with black bean soup slopped and dripped down the front.   I am thinking that is why “big” girls wore soup aprons?

Here is my Tuesday’s Treat offering:   Black Bean Soup

2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 cup chopped carrots

1/2 cup chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 can diced tomatoes

3 cans of black beans

3 cloves garlic

1/4 cup minced cilantro

Heat oil in a medium sauce pan on medium heat; add carrots, celery, onion & garlic.  Cook about 15 minutes or until tender.  Add remaining ingredients except cilantro.  Heat to a boil; reduce heat and simmer 20  more minutes.  Add cilantro.  Use an immersion blender and blend ”er up!   Freezes very well.

Say Grace and dig in!

1 thought on “Tuesday’s Treats”

Comments are closed.