Uncategorized

dryer sheet drama

First and foremost, we all KNOW there are 9 harmful chemicals in dryer sheets.  Three of those are toxic chemicals.  These are bad.  period.  Ever taken a walk on Sunday evening in your neighborhood?  The smell of dryer sheets fills the air like smoke at a summer beach bonfire.  It is frightening.  Okay, so we are all in agreement.  These are bad guys.  These are harmful to our health, our families’ health, the environment, yes, we get it.   We all bought into the idea that our laundry “needed” to smell mountain fresh without having to do the work and hang them outside.

It was about 4 years ago that I think we all learned of their dangers.  So I, like everyone else tried everything I could get my hands on.  I made my own softener,  C+.  I purchased two pieces of fabric that were to eliminate static cling, A-.  I have set the timer and ran like a crazy woman to pour in a cup of white vinegar into the rinse cycle, B-. I have purchased two plastic balls that were guaranteed to stop static, B-.   I have hung clothes outside, A+.  However, in the dead of winter with ice on the ground, I am not thrilled with that option.    So I searched and found a couple of companies that supposedly don’t use harsh chemicals in their product.  They are not paying me so I don’t want to promote them.  Hey, maybe they would send me a free box of them or something?  Ok, Mrs. Meyers and Seventh Generation supposedly don’t use harmful chemicals.  Who knows?

The static is so horrid this time of year, Mr. Right even went out and bought a can of spray anti-static.  Gee, I wonder what miracle chemical is in that can?  Dress clothes for work are not quite as professional looking when a gentleman’s slacks stick to his legs when he gets up to greet a co-worker or client.  So we bend our rules.  We use the spray.

I did read a tip yesterday that made me want to slap my head in amazement.  duh, I can not believe that I didn’t think of this sooner.  If you must use dryer sheets (to stop from being electrocuted when shaking hands with another human or getting out of the car this time of year), AT LEAST cut the dryer sheets in half and only use half in a load.  It works the same, gets rid of static and you get twice as many in a box as you originally thought.  Well, now there is a common sense idea……why didn’t I think of that maybe 30 YEARS AGO??????

I continue my research.  I would love any tips you have found that work for you to eliminate static cling.

I am trying to have the grace to search change all while continuing to do laundry every single day of my life.

Thus ends today’s ranting and raving.

4 thoughts on “dryer sheet drama”

  1. 1/2 sheet is just right. Someone shared that with me awhile back. Please do not ask who it was as I can barely remember the 1/2 sheet rule. I DO NOT use them on the towels as it makes them less absorbent, so I was told. I am really good at remembering some pretty abstract and sometimes useless information.

    1. Thanks Miss Kathie for leaving your sweet musings behind for me to read. I appreciate you following along no matter where my brain takes this blog.

      I did not know that about towels. Okay, where have I been? I had NO IDEA everyone cuts their dryer sheets in half. I feel somewhat slow and goofy.

      What else could I be doing better????

      Thanks girlfriend, I can always count on you for a sweet something, something.

  2. About 15 years ago, I started cutting the dryer sheets in half – seemed the economical thing to do and it worked fine. THEN I discovered they were harmful so I stopped using them. I also read somewhere that most fabric softeners were filled with harmful chemicals so I ventured into the ‘natural’ section at the store and tried Mrs. Meyers liquid fabric softener and was happy with the results. As the recession hit (I work in the building industry) I started cutting costs and switched to some form of Downey liquid fabric softener depending on my scent mood the day I was shopping…most of our clothes are cotton so I don’t notice a big static problem. If you are feeling adventurous you might want to check out the non-chemical static eliminator at the link below. I have never tried it but it sounds promising 🙂

    http://shop.sixwise.com/avoidoneofthemosttoxiclaundryproductsinyourhome.aspx

    1. Hi there Miss Patti,
      Thank you sincerely for all your suggestions. I sent you a private e-mail to your face book account.

      I went to the site you suggested. Guess what? THAT IS THE PRODUCT I use and gave an A- to! Great minds think alike. I love their product and have been using it for about 4 years. Just need a little something extra during these couple of dry cold months.

      I really appreciate your kind spirit and I enjoy your comments and ideas that you share with me on my blog.

      Feels sweet to have someone following along with my rants and raves.

      Here’s to you and your happy spirit!

Comments are closed.