Uncategorized

What’s my line? Meet my first ever guest blogger!

I’ve long been a fan of cruciferous vegetables and I’ll freely admit that to anyone. Broccoli, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Bok Choy etc – I love the entire food group. Brussels sprouts are a particular favorite but eating them is an exercise in loneliness. Not many people can get past the rather distinct odor they emit and then there’s the taste. Let’s face it, you either like them or you don’t. Period. No room for discussion. Until now that is. Confession is said to be good for the soul and I’ve a confession to make.  I was taught (and fervently believed) that Brussels sprouts are cooked by boiling them or steaming them.  Gently so as not to dry them out, and not so much that the leaves fall away.  It’s also said that ignorance is bliss and I believed that to be true.  Now I know otherwise.  Ignorance cost me 50+ years of eating Brussels sprouts THE WRONG WAY!  Today I was introduced to roasted Brussels sprouts.  Simply cut in half and then the bitter stem cut away, drizzled with olive oil.  Add some freshly ground black pepper and some sea salt and cook for 30 minutes.  The result?  Heaven in a leafy , crunchy, cruciferous form!  Pure delight and a remarkable sensation for the palate, one I heartily recommend.  We do indeed live in an age where, thanks to the miracle of the internet, new ideas are readily available and I for one think it’s a blessing.

Mr. Right (aka Cruciferous Chip)

1 thought on “What’s my line? Meet my first ever guest blogger!”

Comments are closed.