Uncategorized

Blow me a (secret) Kiss

Today, I sent a secret valentine all wrapped up and tied with string for someone’s desk .   I have a few more tricks up my sleeve for this week as well.  Inevitably, the questions always arise year after year, do you still do that?  You still exchange Valentines?  you bet!   Mr. Right was a marriage counselor for many years, I think because of that, he & I seemed to be asked quite often, what is the “secret”?

There are a million and one quotes on having and living a good marriage.  Young or old couples, each has their own “secret”.   This morning, we mailed a Congratulations card to a couple being married today in Georgia.  They are very young and in love.  Inside the card, along with other life altering impressive words……………………I wrote the one that I believe with my heart and soul.

Marriage is choosing someone again and again to love and to cherish with each new dawn.

That pretty much sums it up into a nice neat package.  I respect and cherish my husband.  The same is true for him.  Every single day of my life I feel cherished, respected and treasured.   He learned by watching his brother and sister in law.

I was (a sweet, I am sure) seven year old.  The year was 1969.  That was second grade & my teacher was Mrs. Johnson.  She said I had very nice penmanship & we got to color every Friday after lunch time.  LOVED her!  Anyhoo, back to story.  While I was jumping rope and singing and twirling and using a hoola hoop and twisting my hair and (urgh) wearing Saddle Shoes, my dear Brother in law was in Vietnam.  My loving and remarkable sister in law wrote him a letter every SINGLE day.  Did you catch that?  Not sent a two word text, not a quick 15 second e-mail.  She wrote him a letter every single day.  Pen, paper, envelope, stamp…..yeah, you get it, EVERY DAY.  She sent packages that included Kool-Aid so he and his buddies could drink the water. I am sure she cried herselft to sleep on many occasions.  I could go on and on about this couple.  I think you get the idea.  When the rest of us make a New Year resolution to “write in my journal, every day”, it usually last until about early February and other things get in the way.  The love and respect that this couple have for each other takes your breath away every single day.

Mr. Right writes me a note/letter or poem each day he leaves for work.  I am one lucky girl.  Sometimes there are drawings of me sewing or  walking the dog or a sparkle heart sticker or hand written XOXOXO’s.  He is consistant and I feel cherished each day.

When Mr. Right left for a nine month duty station, we were living in Oklahoma.  We had two young boys ages 7 & 9.  My hands were filled with working ,volunteering, teaching, quilting, taking care of the dog, house, life and being a mom.  I tried, oh I really tried to write him every single day.  If you are reading this and you are under 35 you probably don’t know about numbering envelopes.  I used to write a number on the back of the envelopes that I mailed.  So when five or six of them caught up with him in Germany he could read them somewhat in order.   I always affixed the stamp upside down, because that means I LOVE YOU.  We invented a secret code to put on the outside of the envelope.  Those letter were a bit saucy and were to be read in private.   Those letters were not to be read to the boys outloud at the breakfast table or read in the mess hall.    After a few months, the letters started including daily events and notations about bills and the boys wrestling antics, sports scores, etc. not every letter was filled with hearts and flowers.  No, I did not write every day.  I did manage 4-5 times a week. 

I loved the song preformed by some British military wives (with husbands away at war)……”my heart will build a bridge of light across both time and space”…………  ” cling on to Faith”……….”I will hold on through the night”.

I have a sign that hangs in my kitchen and it has for years and years and will continue to hang.  Oh sure I will repaint the frame, or buy a new “hip” one……I choose to keep it where I see it every single day of my life.  There is no more lovely, friendly, and charming relationship, communion, or company than a good marriage.

Congratulations to the newly married young couple today.  Come to find out there are lots of little secrets that keep marriages happy and thriving.  With heartfelt sincerity, may you respect and cherish each other forever and ever. May your new life be filled to overflowing with secret kisses!

1 thought on “Blow me a (secret) Kiss”

Comments are closed.