Uncategorized

Tuesday Treats

I could write today about the live bird that was inside our home on Saturday.  That was the second time in two years, you’d think I would learn to close the screen door tight?

I could write about the delicious Coho Salmon we enjoyed for Easter dinner or how cute two grandgirlies were on Sunday or how good the Challah bread was.  I could write that grandgirlie number two, gained one pound since her birthday and is now two weeks old!  Grandgirlie number one can say she is one!  love that!  I could write about Mr. Right, gently telling me how many toxic chemicals were in nail polish.  Thank you kindly.  Over three years, we have gotten rid of tons and tons of chemicals.  We make our own laundry soap, do not use harsh soaps, no SLS, we cleaned up our food act, no diet anything in our home, we gave up margarine about 10 years ago, we limit the dryer sheet use, we make or bake almost all our foods, we juice 60-85 pounds of vegetables and fruits on a monthly basis.  We gave up 99% of lawn chemicals.  We use the dry cleaner very sparingly and air those items out before bringing them into our home.  I make my own closet sachets and shoe inserts with cedar and lavender.  I only buy chemical free hand and body lotions.  I am trying to switch to 100% pure make up however__________________________________________________________________that was me drawing a line.  I am not ready to give up nail polish nor hair dye.  period.  Yes, I have an open mind.  Yes, I have done the research.  I am making a choice to do my nails and hair with toxic chemicals.  I think it is that important.  Heck, I even spray perfume on my clothes when I want to wear it, no more directly on the skin.  I try to shop at the farmers markets and buy organic when my wallet will allow.  I buy raw honey and support the local farmers.   I am just not ready to give up nail polish and hair dye.

Since today is Tuesday I will share a treat instead! 

Ah the knee replacement………….keeping healthy, staying healthy, choosing to be healthy.  Biking and walking every day.  Getting as much vitamin D as possible naturally.  Writing in a gratitude journal every day throughout Lent.  Making an effort to focus on positive.    While making an appetizer for yesterday, I was thinking how darn easy it is to add a little “umph” to our daily good food choices.  My white bean dip did just the trick.  Protein and vitamin C for healthy cells and fighting off anything that could become bad news for our bodies and taking care of my new knee.  Hey, I have grandgirlies to pick up, a red bike to ride outside come May, a birthday to celebrate  and a wedding to attend in the fall.  I have great reasons to be in the healthy category!!

Here we go:  Easy and cheap and sooooooooooooooooooo  good.

White Bean Dip

1 (15-ounce) can cannellini or other white beans, rinsed and drained

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, fresh has more vitamins and “umph”
  • 1 cloves garlic
  • ¼ cup fresh dill (you can use dried if you must), fresh rosemary is a great sub as well
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Blend all ingredients in a food processor until smooth. Adjust seasoning to taste.

Transfer the dip to a hollowed-out red cabbage to be “fancy schmancy” or a Polished pottery bowl will work fine and serve with sliced baguette or left over homemade by daughter in law, Challah bread from Easter, crackers, or raw veggies.

Say Grace and dip in!

