Uncategorized

wrong side of the bed

image

Boy, did I wake up on the wrong side of the bed?  I was grumpy even after I rode my bike four miles and had a delicious cup of coffee.  I was just having a little pity party.  urgh, not the best side of me that is for sure.  I woke up tired and my leg hurts and I just want to be difficult.  I thought maybe typing, I could type it out?  I have split peas that have soaked over night and are ready to be made into a delicious soup. Have I ever mentioned that Mr. Right HATES soup?  He doesn’t mind for a little starter course, he just hates it when served as a meal.  Me?  I could eat soup every single solitary day of my life!   My new hair color and highlights are lovely.  I have sewing projects that await me and are ready to go.  I am in the middle of planning a birthday trip for myself.  I am so looking forward to son number two getting married in the fall and having another daughter in law in our family.  I am secretly (well now, not so much) anticipating working in a trip to visit family in Vermont in the late fall.  I have tons of books to read and dogs that love my dog biscuits.  Two very sweet Grandgirlies pictures are plastered all over my refrigerator (one of two that I have the luxury of having).

I have a great life.  For some strange reason, I am grumpy and feel needy and goofy.  I want to spend a day just lolligagging (LOVE that word and yes it IS a word) in a coffee shop or a gift shop or a great bakery.  I want to wear cute clothes and shoes that make me smile.  I want to hang out with a friend, in a slow-paced fashion.  For no reason other than to goof off.  No serious problem to solve or issue to tackle.  No clock to watch or store to “have” to go to or errand to run.  I guess by the sheer fact that I could take a day to “lolligag” means I live a very good life?  I don’t have to work in the fields all day.  I don’t have to climb a ladder in the orchard all day.  I don’t have to beg for money to feed my kids or grandgirlies. I don’t have to wear ugly combat boots and carry a gun for my job.   I don’t have to be to work at 3 in the morning to start baking bread and goodies for others.  I can bake at 10 in the morning.

Yes, I probably will.  I love to bake and cook.  It makes me happy.  I love the fact that when I do step into the kitchen I try to make two of what ever.  I either make two batches of spaghetti sauce and freeze one to use another night, or I might make two loaves of bread to share with another family.  I try to make two batches of English Muffins so we can have some and have some to share.  I think everyone should do that.  Think how much happiness could be shared and spread if every single one of us shared some part of what we made?  It just became who we are as humans.  We make say, Split Pea soup and we share some with a neighbor we hardly know or a friend we would go to the ends of the earth for.  Think if every single one of us were to almost on a daily basis, share something we made.  If you can’t cook well, you would share a dish cloth you embrodiered.  If you can embrodier, after mowing your lawn, you are still in your grubby clothes you would mow the neighbors’ yard.    The interesing part of this would be YOU would be the recipient of pure goodness and sharing on a daily basis as well.  It certainly is “food” for thought.  So if out of 365 days in a year, you are let’s say happy and uplifting 361 of those days……the other four days some other human would help you through the tough days.  Maybe, just maybe I need to be more mindful to decide to be happy on the great days and the “tough” days?  Then just live, today.

This devotional book is written from the point of view of Jesus.  I could certainly learn a whole bunch from a “kids” book.

Just Today

Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,

I press on toward the goal to win the prize

for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:13-14

I have made this day for you.  Be careful not to complain about anything in it ~ not your English test, not your frizzy hair, not even the weather ~ because I am the Creator of this day.  Instead, decide to be happy today.  Open your eyes, and choose to look for all the blessings I have hidden in this day.

Then live today ~ just today.  Don’t think about mistakes you’ve made in the past.  Don’t worry about what will happen tomorrow.  You will only end up wasting today.  I want you to enjoy abundant Life in My Presence ~ today!

image

4 thoughts on “wrong side of the bed”

  1. You did a fine job lifting yourself up…sure hope your day kept improving 🙂
    Rejoice in the Lord always. And again, I say rejoice!

  2. OMG! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! The devotional part…. not that you had a bad day. I have been working really really hard at just what your wrote:)

Comments are closed.