good manners, grace, Uncategorized

skipped lunch

One of the nicest surprises of this life are the unexpected snippets of pure goodness and happiness.

A long time friend and I met for coffee first, then we had plans for lunch.  Here’s what happened, we talked and listened and talked and connected and imagine this, we SKIPPED lunch.

I want to write more about this.  It deserves a whole page of spilling and gushing about how dang fortunate I really am.  However, for now, I needed to get this out there.  She is such a great friend.  She needed to vent or talk or ramble on and on ………………but somehow I felt like she was there to listen to me!  She puts you first.  You feel important when you are in her presence.  She leans across the table and follows what you are saying.  She looks at your jewelry and scarf and the color of your shirt, and she remembers what you are saying.  She follows the conversation and has interesting comments.  She makes you feel like you are the only really important thing in her life at that moment in time.   Needless to say, she is busy with a life and husband and dog and two adult children and studying and working and her brain swirls with artistic ideas constantly and  on and on… Yes, she is well-educated and a women of substance.  Yes, she has a cell phone…….a real fancy schmancy one at that.  I never saw it or heard it once.  NOPE.  She turns her full and undivided attention to the person in front of her.  She has good social graces and makes sure you feel enveloped in that grace.

So for me, I was all set to have a cup of coffee, listen to her issues, meander onto some lunch and politely say goodbye until next time.  What I ended up getting was a moment in time, where I felt loved and important and of value.  Oh my goodness she brings out the very best in me.  She makes me bring my “A” game to the table.  She is honest and forthright and you feel honored to offer her the same.

I bathed in the grace of pure and true friendship.  I want to remember this feeling and always, always behave just like I am treated every single time we connect.

“Charm: the quality in others that makes us more satisfied with ourselves.”

