cooking, good manners

Tuna Cans and L. C.’s Tuesday’s Treats

While growing up, my maternal grandmother would come and visit this time of year and stay for a couple of days. We always went to a nearby town for her to “call on” her friend, Elsie.  It was a love/ hate visit for my little sisters and me.  I loved going there.  Their house was spotless, very few knickknacks, perfectly hung cream-colored drapes and high quality, cream and brown furniture.  There was a small, wooden kitchen table with four chairs surrounding it.  There was not much on the kitchen counters.  I think I remember a plain white toaster.  I do remember a clock on the wall shaped like a teapot.  They had no children of their own, so with no one to play with,  my two sisters and I would sit politely and listen.   So the “hate” part of the visit was there was nothing to do, but be nice young ladies and sit quietly.

I remember she was short and had a very hearty laugh.  She drove a HUGE brand new (every year) Cadillac.  She could hardly see over the steering wheel.  She was the first woman I met who did not have children and told us to call her Elsie (for years and years, even when I hand wrote down her recipe, I wrote “L.C.”, as I thought that was her name!) .  Just imagine my mother cringing when we said “L.C. may we please have a cookie?”  not saying Mrs…….?    She worked for a living.  Yes, you read that right, she made money and travelled all over the place.  She was a professional lady golfer.    She didn’t decorate much, nor did she do crafts or garden much.  A few plants here and there.  Actually, I have growing today in my flower bed, some pinks that were from a start from her flower beds that my mother and grandmother kept going.  I love thinking about her.  She was articulate, funny, nice, kind and I didn’t know what it was then, but I do know, she had a zest for life-like no other.  She had a passion for her love of golf that spilled over onto anyone that was in her presence.

One year, for some reason we visited her & her husband at Christmas time.  In the center of their picture front window was a Christmas tree.  It was somehow made by stacking/welding 15 empty Tuna cans (both bottom and top lids removed) to form the tree, the entire “tree” spray painted gold and each can had a colored light glowing in the center.  That was it!  That was all of their decorations!  We asked my mother if they were poor and could not buy a tree and a wreath and jars full of candy and cookies?  Nope, they were far from poor.  They chose the tuna can tree as their decor.  Imagine that? ~ sometimes, when I go a bit “overboard” with boughs of evergreen and three trees and holly and lemons and tree skirts and candles and angels ….I think, I could just do a Tuna Can tree and it would be done.  ha

Our visits to L.C.’s were always planned.  Never in a million years would my mother nor grandmother do the “pop in”.  There was always, always a plate of L.C.’s cookies waiting for three little girls.  Always on a white plate, the cookies had a pale golden color to them.  We always got to take two on our little plates and we each were given a cloth napkin.  I can still “see” little crystals of sugar all over our napkins.  When we got home, we all had to sit at the table and write our proper thank you notes.  For some reason, I always, always wrote about the cookies.

L.C.’s Cookies

1 cup of butter, 1.5 cups of sugar, 2 cups flour, 3 egg yolks, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon cream of tartar, 1 teaspoon Vanilla.

Mix well the butter, sugar and eggs.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Roll balls of dough into the size of a golf ball.  Bake at 325* for 12-15 minutes.

Say Grace and Dig In!!

6 thoughts on “Tuna Cans and L. C.’s Tuesday’s Treats”

  1. Of course they are the size of a golf ball!!! Thanks for sharing your memories and recipe 🙂

  2. Love the “planned” trip down memory lane. I am looking forward to making L.C.’s cookies. She sounds like someone I would have loved to have met.

  3. I thought for sure it was going to be a tuna “treat”. the cookies look better than a another tuna dish. lol

    1. Okay, that “craft” would cost me a lot. I would have to first buy tuna in a can, several cans. Then dump out the tuna. Then wash the cans and I would be ready to go. I think I will stick with baking the cookies. Might be a bit cheaper. Thanks for reading and commenting. Nice to know someone is out there.

Comments are closed.