cooking, grace

Tuesday Treats of Golden Goodness

Home, Home on the range…where the deer and the….   I am back from vacation.  Yep, every once in a while girls that write blogs have to “get out there” and experience life and restaurants and get sand in their crop pant cuffs and eat too much garlic and way too much sugar and drink copious amounts of caffeine and lemonade and gather ideas for more blogs.   Tons of great things to write about were presented to me on a golden platter.  I met a man with a dog named Erik.  I met a woman who just lost her little dog. Another man introduced me to his to rescued Greyhound dogs.  I met an Army Ranger on the flight going on vacation and the same Army Ranger found me in the airport and said “hi there civilian lady guess we are on the same flight back?”  I sort of feel like an Astronaut.  I need a day or two to process all my thoughts and pictures…..oh the pictures are great.

So when one of my favorite sweet nieces sent me a birthday email (oh yes, I celebrated my Golden birthday while on vacation in the Golden state!) asking for a recipe….well it just got my juices flowing.  How could I come home and share the recipe with her and not make it for my family?  This recipe is one of those good ones.  Your “go to” never fail, may I please have the recipe?  types of cakes.

In our family we have a love/hate relationship with the Cream Cheese frosting.  Some drool, love it and try to sneak extra.  Some wrinkle their noses, hate it and pick it off.  Your choice!

Say GRACE and for the love of Sam, DIG in!!!

Sam’s Carrot Cake

3 eggs

  •  3/4 cup buttermilk  (weird, but a MUST)
  •  3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  •  2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  •  2 teaspoons ground cinnamon  ( I love to use Penze spices)
  •  1/4 teaspoon salt
  •  2 cups all-purpose flour
  •  2 teaspoons baking soda
  •  2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 cup flaked coconut
  •  1 cup chopped walnuts (almost powder, I like them chopped very, very fine)
  • 1 (8 ounce) can crushed pineapple with juice
  •  1 cup raisins

            Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8×12 inch pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, combine eggs, buttermilk, oil, sugar and vanilla. Mix well. Add flour mixture and mix well.
  4.   In a medium bowl, combine shredded carrots, coconut, walnuts, pineapple and raisins.
  5. Using a large wooden spoon or a very heavy whisk, add carrot mixture to batter and fold in well.
  6. Pour into prepared 8×12 inch pan, and bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour. Check with toothpick.
  7.  Allow to cool for at least 20 minutes before serving.
6 thoughts on “Tuesday Treats of Golden Goodness”

  1. Oh my goodness, I am drooling like a tropical rainstorm. Heaven has just arrived in my e-box!! How lucky for me!!

  2. Gotta make this one! Carrot cake is Greg’s favorite and your recipe looks delicious – thank you for sharing 🙂

    1. Hi there Miss Patti, the only “problem” I see with this cake is, somehow over the course of a day ……I can talk myself into it being “healthy” because it has carrots, pineapple, coconuts and walnuts………………it must be good for me? 🙂 Hope your Mr. Right loves it.

      1. Yes, ma’am! I do the same thing…. It DOES have carrots, pineapple, walnuts, and I’ll use organic unsweetened coconut and probably whole wheat flour — stick with me, I can justify just about anything. LOL 🙂
        P.S. I’m positive my Mr. Right will love this!
        P.P.S. We are in favor of cream cheese frosting…you know, it IS a dairy product!!!!
        Once again, thank you soooo much for sharing!

Comments are closed.