cooking, grace, grateful

Bagna Cauda, sumptuous in all it’s golden glory

Once I landed in California, I was whisked away to see the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Graumann’s Chinese Theater, Kodak Theater, architecture, shops, hand prints & foot prints and more.  My tummy was grumbling……………..it was talking to me.  Son #2 asked if I wanted to go to one more tourist place or go get dinner.  We both said “DINNER” at the same time.

Some mothers and sons may bond over a certain book or poignant movie and particularly good church service or any number of volunteer things or sporting events……………….this mother and this son……….have the bond of GARLIC.  I for one celebrate and am very grateful.

I have heard of this restaurant.  One of his favorites in California.  They have two locals.  Beverly Hills and San Francisco.  It is called the Stinking Rose. http://www.thestinkingrose.com/about.htm Yep, you guessed correctly, garlic, garlic and yet more garlic.  Actually, between the two restaurants they go through 3,000+ pounds of garlic a month.   Oh my.  Between my youngest and I we easily ate 2 pounds or more in one sitting.  We had two appetizers, and we shared a heaven-sent  Crab and Shrimp garlic platter.  We even made room for garlic ice cream to share.  It was all so over the top yummy good.  You want to know just how good?  The wait staff (which by the way is super attentive and helpful and so friendly) brings you two or three full wash cloth sized towelettes to clean up.  You are dripping and licking and more dripping and smiling and laughing and over indulging and the towelettes come in mighty handy if I do say so myself, and indeed I do.

One of the appetizers was raw garlic chopped finely with parsley and mixed with olive oil.  Yep, we ate it.  We wondered aloud why even bother with the little pieces of bread we should have just used spoons.  The main appetizer was golden in all it’s aroma and flavorful glory.  I loved it.  He loved it.  We ate and ate and dabbled during dinner and ate some more and we both were sad-faced when they cleared the table and there was a piece or two left.  😦

I needed that recipe.  I must find it.  I was on a mission.  A mission really for my son (of course).  I should try it out before I share the recipe with him. 

Last night was the night……………………  it was so good…………………tonight we are having it again…………….making another batch.  Day two……………..I need this stuff.  It is just divine.  Pure goodness in the most lovely, creamy, spreadable, salty, mouth-watering, suptuous, golden goodness.

Now, if we all eat it together……………….no one will even notice how much we smell like the stinking rose!  Say Grace, dip in, dig in, spread on, lick off, spoon in and for Pete sake enjoy every single sumptuous mouth full.

From The Stinking  Rose restaurant in San Francisco. This is an Italian appetizer dish and the name  translates as ‘hot bath’.

1 1/2  to 2 cups peeled garlic cloves

  • 1 1/2 cups lextra virgin olive oil
  • 2 ounces butter
  • 1 (2  ounce) can anchovies

Place all ingredients in an oven casserole, cover and bake at  275F for 1 1/2 hours.

Serve with bread and/or vegetables or just eat it with a spoon.

