cooking, grateful

Grab 40 bananas, Say GRACE and dig in!

Sometimes, every once in a while, you hit the jack pot.  Yeah, the sweet discovery of a great find!  The rush.  The excitement.  The sweaty palms.   You KNOW what I am talking about.  Once you put your “treasure” in your shopping cart…………that special spring in your step.    I came across these beauties…………………

40 of them………..just waiting for ME to pay $2.00 and take them home!!!!!!!!!!!  Be still my heart!  Yes, you read that correctly, I struck gold.  I found two bags of 20 each and each bag was only $1.00.  WOOT WOOT!!!!

I rolled up my sleeves, put on my adorable April Cornell apron and magically turned those beauties into these beauties:  The recipe is a snap and turns out wonderful.  Take 3 large bananas, mashed.  3/4 cup brown sugar, 1 stick of butter (or earth balance).  Mix together.  Add: 2 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1 teaspoon salt.  Here you can add chopped up walnuts if that is to your liking.  Place that into two loaf pans.  Bake at 350* for 45 to 50 minutes.  Done and done.  Come up with great people in your life that you want to share with.  Who among us doesn’t enjoy a freshly baked loaf of goodness?

Grab a napkin, cut into one of these beauties for you and your family, Say GRACE, and for the love of pure banana goodness, Dig In.

Today, I am grateful for:  511.  brand new cooling racks  512.  tried and true recipes  513.  digital cameras  514.  printed pictures  515.  looking back over our travel pictures  516.  band aids  517.  shopping on-line  518.  9 bottles of homemade laundry soap filled and lined up  519.  great cookbooks  520.  great lip balm  521.  the smell of bread baking  522.  beans cooking in the slow cooker for dinner  523.  a hot steamy shower

2 thoughts on “Grab 40 bananas, Say GRACE and dig in!”

  1. Now you are making me hungry for banana bread! Wow, what a treasure all those bananas were! I’m going to save your recipe and give this a try soon…thanks! 🙂

Comments are closed.