good behavior, grace, grateful

number 573, just the beginning

Here we are 3 months later. Remember, I am trying to get something started?  With “summer” beginning on June 1st and ending on August 31st? Remember back to when I decided to start writing things I am grateful for,  on my blog every day instead of just my gratitude journal?  https://sundayschildfullofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/grateful-for-garbage-and-grace/

I would have never guessed the number would grow to take on a life of its own.   Day by day, grace unfolded before my very eyes.  After three months of purpose, three months of adding to the list, I would see the world just a bit differently.  I have found myself looking, really looking for things to be grateful for.  Focusing on what is presented to me on a daily basis and then writing it down and talking about it and then  CHOOSING TO BE GRATEFUL.  I chose wisely.  I am a different person today than I was 3 months ago.  A much more calm, centered, grace filled and yes, a more grateful person.  I like that about me.  I like that if I needed to use words to describe myself, one of the words would be grateful.  I like that if others had to describe me, they would use the same powerful word.

Today, on this last day of summer (to me anyway), I am grateful for:  563.  Shawn Achor’s book, “The Happiness Project”.  He taught me to place value on being grateful.  564.  Calling my list a blessing, not lucky  565.  cappuccino with a girlfriend  566.  my healthy grandgirlies  567.  having two healthy boys and two healthy daughter in-laws  568.  Mr. Right  569.  Having the piece of mind to list my gratitude  570.  building a list to look back on  571.  the life I have chosen to live  572.  the freedom of religion  573.  Today, I am grateful for the excellence that has become a habit.   I will continue keeping my list in a written journal.  It is of value.  I have been given freely the choice to live in gratitude.  I accept it and will place importance upon it daily.

We are what we repeatedly do.  Excellence, is not an act, but a habit.  ~aristotle

3 thoughts on “number 573, just the beginning”

  1. I did a gratitude journal quite a few years ago and it did the same for me….it changed me. I began to look for things to be grateful for and it really changed my point of view. I look forward to your posts and love that you find so many things to be grateful for! xo Joanne

Comments are closed.