good behavior, grace, grateful, Uncategorized

A perfect blue star

During WWI and WWII, Service Flags hung in the windows of parents of Service men and women.  The tradition originated with WWI.  In 1917, the Congressional Record stated:  “The world should know of those who give so much for liberty.  The dearest thing in all the world to a father and mother is their children.”  One star for each service family member, the blue stands for hope and pride.  When family members were killed, a gold star was placed on top of the blue star representing sacrifice.  A silver star stood for some invalided home for wounds sustained overseas.

There was a newspaper photograph taken of a girl about 4 or 5 years old.  She is kneeling on a sofa inside a home.  She is sticking her face looking outward to the world.  Her head is sandwiched between two blue star service flags.   She has brown curly hair.  It was published on the front cover of a newspaper during war-time.  The girl was my mother.  The blue stars were for my Great Uncles, who thankfully both came home.

I am sewing a blue star service flag banner.  I am giving it to the wife of a soldier whose husband is providing our freedom.  He is currently serving in Afghanistan.  They have three small children.  I am backing it with cream-colored muslin.  That way, I can ask people to sign the back to show their support and lift her up in prayer and stand in her corner while her husband is away.

Army wife ….toughest job in the Army.   Amen.

5 thoughts on “A perfect blue star”

  1. Your posting brought a tear to my eye. That is so, so SO very AWESOME! You guys are truly magnificent people and I thank you from the bottom of my heart!!

Comments are closed.