cooking, grace, pure goodness, recipe

It’s Tuesday, Grab a big ol soup spoon, say Grace and Dig in

Today just happens to be remarkable in my corner of the world.  This post you are currently reading is my 400th blog posting!  Oh my.  When a friend in California gently suggested I start a blog, I said to her “what on earth will I write about?  Who will want to read what I have to drone on and on about ?  Some how, I keep coming up with topics to explore and share.  Some how along the way, I have family and friends and “followers”.  Sort of a bit crazy to say that.  So the next time, someone says to me, gosh we just don’t take the time to write anymore………..I will gently say, I beg to differ.  To all you kind folks who follow me, leave comments, send me emails, give me suggestions, read my blog postings AND keep coming back, a very sincere heartfelt thank you.

I was going to hit you with the top 400 things I have to be grateful about.  Then I thought about 400 different ways I have been bathed in Grace.   Oh golly, then I thought what if I owned 400 pairs of shoes and took pictures and shared them………….stop, enough.  Let’s just keep it like most Tuesday’s around here.  A recipe, a picture and encouragement to make something wonderful for you and your family & a gentle reminder to say GRACE.

I wonder where we as a nation got side tracked about food?  When did it slowly change from growing, preparing, making/baking and offering up a lovely meal to nourish our family, our bodies and our souls? When did the word “busy” creep into our vocabulary?  Whether we work inside the home, outside, volunteer, have children or not………we all have exactly the same amount of time in the day.  I am choosing to make really nutritious meals to feed Mr. Right, myself, family and friends.

I follow a blog by the name of http://peasandthankyou.com/  the author’s name is Sarah………….Oh how I want to be like her when I grow up!  She seems kind, thoughtful, loves being a mom, so inventive in the kitchen and she is one smart cookie………and shares tons of cookie recipes too.  All vegan.  I love her, her blog and smile every single time I visit.   I found a recipe last week and instantly passed it by.  I read “the” word………………….you know the one ………blah…………cauliflower……..urgh.  Then I turned back and read it again, with an open mind.  What?  I can actually get 5 cups of the vegetable into our lives?  Mr. Right loves the stuff, me, not so much.  Buckle up kids, this is a NEW FAVORITE!

Loaded Baked Potato Soup………..On medium add 1 Tablespoon organic butter, add 1 1/2 cup chopped onion and saute for a few minutes.  Add 5 cups of cauliflower florets, 1 large baking potato, peeled and diced, 1/2 teaspoon real salt, and four cups of vegetable stock.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.  Set aside to cool slightly.  Get out that immersion blender and go to town folks!  Add 1 1/2 cup almond milk and 1 cup non-dairy or organic shredded cheese, salt and pepper.  Warm gently.  Serve with garnishes.  Everyone gets to dress their own bowls……………..smoked paprika, additional cheese of choice, sliced green onions or chives, non-dairy sour cream, “bakon” bits………………………Oh la la……. my eyes are watering just thinking of the pure goodness.  It tastes heavenly….. really, really good.  You will feel really, really good serving something so worthy to your loved ones and yourself.  You are of value and worth and YES, you too deserve to eat this well.

Grab a big ol soup spoon, lay that linen napkin in your lap, SAY GRACE and for the love 400 blog postings………………DIG IN!

6 thoughts on “It’s Tuesday, Grab a big ol soup spoon, say Grace and Dig in”

  1. Congratulations on Post 400!!! Woohoo!!! This achievement deserves a party!!! Soup with cauliflower?? I just don’t think so. I am one of your girlfriends that continues to wonder what that particular vegetable has to offer this big wide world. Yucky…my word for it. Except…I can eat a floret of it RAW, that’s it raw. So maybe one day, maybe, I might be able to try it, hidden in a yummy soup. But not today…I will have to come up with something else to celebrate your achievement with. 🙂 again…CONGRATULATIONS…looking forward to Post 500.

Comments are closed.