cooking, grace, grateful, recipe, thankful

It’s Wednesday, Say Grace and drop everything for these beauties

I am thankful and most grateful for friends with cheerful spirits.  They seem to lift me up to a new level of goodness.  Yes, I am well aware that on occasions they have troubles and get into pickles and have kiddo troubles, medical stuff and trees fall in their yards…………they just never seem to grumble on and on about it.  They live their lives as if it were, well, a blessing.  Every single time you visit or chat or read an email from people like my friend you are bathed in Grace.

I have a really lovely (inside and out) friend.  She is kind, thoughtful and charming. She lives her life with Grace.   When you are with her in a room, you can almost feel the radiant vibes of her smile.  She looks right at you when you are speaking.  Sometimes she touches your arm while listening.  No, I don’t know anything about horses.  No, I do not know how to paint beautifully.  I do however, love listening to her talk or read about both.  I can feel her passion/love/joy/respect for her children and husband.  You instantly know she is kind to animals  &  is someone you want in your life.  She doesn’t make fun of me because we juice, well, because she and her family juice.  She eats well and feeds her family the same.  She is one good (organic) egg (remember the Charlie and the Chocolate factory good egg/bad egg scale?).

When I saw this recipe I changed the name from (the boring, lifeless, uninspired)  flourless chocolate coconut drops to:  Annie’s Drops of Goodness   She is unable to “do” gluten and yet she still has a little sweet tooth she needs to feed once in a while as a treat.  So this season, when you are thinking about baking for a friend………….please consider making Annie’s Drops of Goodness.  Maybe we can all spread a little more goodness this season.  Please turn on some sassy music in the kitchen while baking.  Please put on a saucy apron and get your mind wrapped around the spirit of pure goodness.  Just like my friend.  She is a gem and I am so lucky to have her in my circle.  She will be over the moon tickled to know that we all made these and gave them away tied up with a fancy schmancy red bow! Oh and if you could add a touch of bling………that would be perfect.

Preheat your oven to 325*.  In a large bowl, whisk together: 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar sifted, 3/4 cup Dutch-process cocoa powder( I use Fry’s  …thank you sister in law in Vermont for sending it to me, it’s the best ever), 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Stir in 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 cup roughly chopped toasted almonds, 3/4 cup shredded coconut.  Add 4 large egg whites, room temperature, just stir until combined (do not over mix).  Drop by rounded Tablespoons onto Silpat lined cookie sheets.  Bake until tops are dry and cracked about 15-17 minutes.  Let cool completely on the sheets and then store in an airtight container.  Tie a box, container or cookie jar with a saucy red bow and give away this season.

In lady like fashion, place a couple of cookies on a plate, gently place a napkin in your lap, SAY GRACE and for the love of a sweet friend, take a bite then another, then another………

4 thoughts on “It’s Wednesday, Say Grace and drop everything for these beauties”

  1. How very sweet of you Miss Daleen…. you and Miss Annie are BOTH a couple of really good (organic) eggs and I’m glad to call you both friends!!! I’m going to make these for my sister who can’t ‘do’ gluten and share the recipe with her — as always, thanks for sharing 🙂

Comments are closed.