pure goodness, Uncategorized

When the Red, Red Robin, comes Bob, Bob, Bobbin along…..

My brain has been tumbling and swirling all week.  Can’t seem to focus and concentrate on one thing or another.  I have started 7 or 8 projects and honestly, only finished 3.

For some silly reason, I felt the need to make bird seed ornaments.  They are super-duper easy, quick, turn out perfectly and make you feel like you accomplished something of worth.   When the Red, Red, Robins, or the Stellar Jays, or the Finches come around, now I have something charming and home made  to offer up.

There is a blog I like to follow.  The sweet girl who writes the stories and takes the pictures is Emily.  http://www.emilys-little-world.blogspot.com/  Every single time I stop by and visit her blog, she never fails to make me smile.  She has two (maybe three kiddos by the time you read this), she is creative, funny, honest, sweet and finds time to make some charming things.  I learned this recipe from her.

I thought spending my time making something charming would be a good use of time. DSC08119

Here are some pictures of how it all turned out.  Easy ingredients………..knox geletin and 1/4 cup water plus one cup of bird seed.  You need a straw for a hole and a cookie cutter for a shape.  Grab some twine and ta-da………….project done and done.  DSC08131DSC08135

Made me feel old-fashioned and charming to make such cute things to hang in the trees around our deck.

~Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened” ~anatole france

6 thoughts on “When the Red, Red Robin, comes Bob, Bob, Bobbin along…..”

  1. Great idea – thanks for sharing!!!
    We have quite a gathering at our “feeding station” and I am off to buy another huge bag of seeds for our Juncos, song sparrows, nuthatches, chickadees, house finches, Eurasian collared doves, mourning doves, American tree sparrows, varied thrushes, and all the passersby…. Think I’ll make some seed ornaments to hang on the rhodies and shrubs 🙂

  2. Thank you for stopping by. I looked up the birds you mentioned and by golly we have quiet a few of those as well. I don’t want to sound like a crazy old bird lady, but I sure enjoy watching the birds. We have found a good mix of seed in the bulk section of Winco Foods. Pretty good price and nice for an added change.
    Thanks for being a “crazy” bird lady with me. 🙂

  3. We love feeding the birds. They are so full of life. They are beautiful, even the plain mama ones. And the babies, just kicked out of the nest, bugging to be fed one last time. Life….

      1. Thanks for treating the Stellar Jays. Gives me hope…I can be mean and nasty sometimes, I think we all can be, none of us are perfect. Hopefully someone will offer me a special treat when I am not at my best.

Comments are closed.