good behavior, grateful

I will be in the park on Saturday.

Saturday in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
Saturday in the park
I think it was the Fourth of July
People talking, people laughingbikes in the park
A man selling ice cream
Singing Italian songs
(Fake Italian lyric)
Can you dig it (yes, I can)
And I’ve been waiting such a long time
For Saturday

Of course by Chicago.

Today is the one and only Saturday that I will be sick.  I made the decision today.  You know, “those” people who try those funky crazy diets and they eat a grapefruit a day and a bowl of cabbage, then one day a week they take a pass.  They get to spend one day a week eating: frozen corn dogs, poptarts, store-bought baked goods, Funyuns (remember those?), fast food, ice cream, ding dongs etc….. you get where I am going with this list.  They are on a “diet”, but one day a week they get to act like their old self.  They splurge and act crazy and wild.  They relax and basically thumb their noses at proper nutrition (if you think eating a bowl of cabbage is proper nutrition).

Anyhoo, from this day forward, I am taking Saturday off.  I am not going to be sick on one day a week.  I will not speak of being sick.  I will not answer one email from someone inquiring about me.  I will not answer one phone call or one text message of someone feeling sorry for me or praying for me.  I will not open one get well card.  I will not shed one tear.  EVEN if I am sicker than a poor old dog on Friday, Saturday I will be fine and dandy.  I will shop like normal people.  I will do errands and catch up on the week.  I will do laundry and vacuum.  I will ride my bike and act like every other person.     From this moment on, I will actually only be sick for six days a week.  So if any of you need a “let’s go grab a coffee chum”, a partner in crime to check out the latest plants at a nursery, or if there is a trip to the zoo planned with the  grandgirlies………….you can count on me.  I will spend the day being grateful for what I have.  I will be gracious and use good manners all day long.  I will not fret or stew or grumble.  If I do feel an ache or pain……….I will chalk it up to getting old, just like everyone else.  period.bench in park

whew, that’s done, she said brushing her hands together to dust off the hard work of coming up with this gem.

Actually, first time I have been proud of myself in two weeks.  I almost forgot how nice it feels to come up with a good idea.

“It’s the good girls who keep the diaries; the bad girls never have the time.” tallulah bankhead

7 thoughts on “I will be in the park on Saturday.”

    1. …and I will take a bow. I thought it was a pretty good idea. Hey, was chatting with my sister in law today talking all kinds of goodness about your husband’s music. I think I hooked another one. I know what to get her for her birthday! Yeah, love the perfect gift. A CD will be great for her.
      Thanks for stopping by. Thanks for your prayers and If I forget to say it often, thanks for being such a kind friend.

Comments are closed.