grace, grateful, healing, thankful, Uncategorized

Covered in Grace and it feels amazing.

When I was about 10 years old, my Grandma Hazel crocheted an afghan for me and one for each of my sisters.  We got to choose our color or my mother told her our favorite colors at the time, not sure.  I chose LIME green, next sister down chose orange and my youngest sister chose purple.  So 14 grandchildren each got striped afghans.  White and color of choice with fringe tied on the edges.

Yikes, that is:  a.  oodles of grandchildren.  b.  skeins of yarn  c.  hours upon hours  of crocheting  d.  a very nice gift to each of us.  We each loved and adored our blankets.  We all grew up and went to college or worked on boats fishing in Alaska or got jobs or got married and set up housekeeping.  We all have moved and moved and moved again.  We have all gone on to have our own children and then some of those children have had babes.  Here we are 42 some years later and yes I indeed still have the blanket.  Surprise, it still gets used.  It is soft and frayed and faded and limp.  It is the “go to” blanket if you don’t feel well.  For some reason over the years, it is called the sick blanket.  Yes, everyone knows which one you are talking about.  Yesterday, grandgirlie number one, said I neeeeed the sick blanket to cover up while I take a pretend nap on the dogs’ bed.  Okay.  you got it.  That blanket has been used in several different cars, apartments, town homes, houses, states, countries, for surgeries, lost boyfriends, home sick, flu bugs, tears oh lots of tears, tooth aches, broken toes, a new knee, two broken legs, a burn on a finger, an ear ache, stitches for this or that……it has been a work horse.   NOT pretty by any means or discription……a tried and true work horse.

Yesterday, in the middle of an ordinary day something magical happened.  The postman (Diane was off, love you Diane!) delivered a brown box with my name and address on it.  My name was spelled correctly, which is a sweet bonus for me.  It doesn’t happen that often.  I was on the phone with Mr. Right and he said well open it.  I said it only says Boise, Idaho on the return address.  I don’t know anyone from Boise.  He said take a chance, live wild.   I carefully cut open the tape and gingerly turned back the orange tissue paper that was folded neatly around a package.  The package was wrapped in….. get this……bright orange wrapping paper DSCN0532with polka dots ( I adore both) and tied with a LIME green fat, sassy, grossgrain ribbon!  I looked for a card and there wasn’t one.  There was a piece of orange paper with the printed words, ” Wrap it all around you and know there is enough love to sustain you.”  Folded neatly inside was a QUILT!  What?  Yes, you heard that right.DSCN0531  There was a knock your socks off, gorgeous quilt.  Just for me.  I have been quilting for 32 years and I have never received a quilt just for me.  It is covered in hearts and machine quilted in every possible space.  It has a gorgeous floral border and the back is as DSCN0530pretty as the front.  The time, effort, handiwork, love and spirit that went into making this piece of goodness is overwhelming.  Now, here is the part that took my breath away.  I am not sure I could make something so lovely, so beautiful, so generous and not sign my name?  I am not sure I am that good of a person.  Who on earth could have done something so lovely, so kind spirited, so altruistic as to give a gift for no other reason than to make someone happy?  unbelievable.  Truly remarkable and to think I am the one here to tell the tale!

You know I love to read murder mysteries (no not real life ones) the happy catering, donut shop silly murder mysteries where someone dies with a donut in their hand, laying on a knoll of grass…… so you know I love a mystery.  I can’t for the life of me think who would have done something so nice for me.  I asked my sister-in-law in Vermont, don’t you think it is weird?  She said, “I think it is wonderful”.  I asked another friend here in Washington, and she said ” Someone who doesn’t want thanks back. They want to do a good deed and only be rewarded from God for it. Good for them and lucky you!”  Mr. Right said finally after me pestering him for literally hours…..why would someone do that, who do you think it was??????  He said, “maybe they don’t want anyone to know, just be gracious and accept it” .  Oldest son, always keeping it real said “maybe it was delivered to the wrong Daleen Wilson”.  nice.

So my friends, I am going to be gracious and give in.  I am going to accept the quilt with all the love that is stitched into it.  For the first time in my life, I will not be writing a thank you note to someone to thank them properly.  I will be honest and tell you that I have already christened it.  I cried buckets of tears this morning and smooshed my face right into it.  Yes, I wrapped it around my shoulders and cried and cried.  When I was done (for that meltdown) I felt okay, I felt better.  DSCN0535

Being grateful equals healing.  Or so I have read.  I am on my knees grateful for someone’s kindness toward me.  It was fun and happy and silly and goofy and mysterious and simply lovely yesterday.  Today, it got me through this far.  It has helped and it feels lovely to be bathed in such Grace.  It’s amazing.

11 thoughts on “Covered in Grace and it feels amazing.”

  1. I am so happy for you and am sharing your joy from afar. I think your quilt maker is remembering what Jesus taught…

    “Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.

    “So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

  2. Thanks for stopping by girlfriend. I “thought” I was living that way, donating here and there not letting anyone know……….it’s just….. a quilt for crying out loud! Who is that spiritually grounded and wise to give without disclosing their name? Oh my goodness, a really kind hearted soul, that is who. Thanks for sharing in my joy and happiness. It is beautiful and so is my friendship with you. Thanks for helping me celebrate something so wonderful. D

  3. Your mystery quilt reminded me of an anonymous gift I received during a very difficult time some 30 years ago. It was a dozen beatutiful long stem yellow roses delivered to my door with a card that simply said, “To the Yellow Rose of Texas. Thinking of you during this difficult time.” The beauty of that gift, and the mystery surrounding the giver, has endured all these years because it wasn’t from someONE, it was from EVERYone. In my mind, each person I ran into could have been the giver. I was kinder and more careful because I wanted the giver, (whoever it was) to know how much their gift meant to me and how grateful I was. I’m sure the sender of the roses has no idea how their “anonymous” gift still impacts me some 30 years later. It was life lesson I have cherised. Perhaps the sender of the quilt wants you to know it is from EVERYone.

    1. I am a little shakey today. Appointments yesterday and tomorrow. I will say my new quilt went for a trip to the hospital yesterday.
      All I can say is I am mighty glad whomever sewed it, did well. I scrunched and twisted and pulled and buried myself under it. It helped.
      I was a nervous wreck. Once the day at the hospital was over, I got to snuggle under the goodness. Yes, it works, it warmed me up.
      I was thinking what you said about being nice to everyone incase they were the ones who gave it to me. I agree. I promise I will try and be kind and
      uplifting to everyone I meet. Well, that was a lie. Once I walk through this fire, then I will see clearly to be kind and uplifting to others. It is taking a lot just to put one foot in front of the other for me right now.
      You do know, everytime I see beautiful long stem yellow roses I will think of you and your lovely grace filled comments on my blog.
      Thank you for being so nice and speaking so kindly towards me. I think you have the “trying to be full of grace” thing pretty well nailed. 🙂

  4. What an amazing example you are to all of us, Daleen. Just when we think we are doing something to lift you, you lift us. When we think we are strengthening you, you strengthen us. Tears stream down my face as I read your blogs–what kindness you radiate! I know the Lord’s purposes will be revealed through you–a greater good will come from this awful battle you are waging. Where ever good is found, the forces of darkness are beat back, if only for a moment. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself with those of us a little further down on the “trying to be full of grace” ladder. We have much more to learn from you!

Comments are closed.