cooking, grace, recipe, Uncategorized

Say Grace and take two or maybe three!

The cook book is called “Sinfully Vegan” by Lois Dieterly.  The cookies, Mr. Right baked on Sunday night for a treat.  Once cooled they are individually wrapped and put into a big glass jar with a lid.  You want to grab one every time you walk by.

We made our decision about rating…………we put FOUR gold stars on page 26.  Yes, they are that good.

Some of you know that I have had to give up a lot of comfort things lately.  I just couldn’t really envision my life without peanut butter cookies.

These cookies ROCK!  They have sincere peanut flavor.  The texture is spot on.  Crisp outside and a teeny bit chewy on the inside.  They come with NO GUILT at all.  I have honestly tried them as a bed time snack.  perfect.  I have tried them with a cup of coffee.  perfect.  I stole one to eat while I folded laundry.  Again, perfect!  I watched as Mr. Right whipped up a batch.  Looked easy enough.  perfect.  peanut butter cookies

Okay get up and heat that oven to 350*.

Combine 1 cup maple syrup, 1/2 cup canola oil, 1 cup of peanut butter (Mr. Right makes ours), and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.  (please measure the vanilla, no skimping.  Please choose REAL Vanilla, you and I are worth it) in a medium bowl.  Add 2 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour and mix to combine.  Form Batter into 3 Tablespoon size balls of dough with your hands.  Put on a cookie sheet lined with Silpat.  Press the tines of a fork across the top of the cookie to make perpendicular imprints.

Bake for 20 minutes.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes.  Place on a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

Okay, now that you have suffered through the “allow to cool completely” phase……………………….Say GRACE and put THREE cookies on your plate, yes they are that good, trust me on this one.  No one will say you are a piggy because they will also have three cookies on their plate.  Okay, where were we, oh yes, Say GRACE and sink your teeth into that little circle of pure goodness.  OH my stars, they are so good, you are actually smiling after that first bite.  Really.

