cooking, recipe, wellness

Time to say Grace, turn up the music, dance & bake!

DSC08194Friday seems like the perfect day to unwind and take a huge sigh of relief.  All of us want one lazy night where we can curl up with an episode of Gillian’s Island or rent a movie.

I think it has been well established that Mr. Right is a potato chip man and I am a popcorn girl.  About 20 minutes after you munch through some salty crisp goodness, something sweet sounds like a very good idea.

This is dedicated to a friend who is seriously considering giving up sugar.  She has done it before and she knows it is a tough trick.  I agree.  However, I told her it would only be 1/2 as hard this time around, I will help by sharing recipes and tips that have helped me.  Together we can march through this patch of sticker bushes.   It is mighty hard to race through with those vines slapping your arms and your face and your hair getting caught on the stickers a couple of times.  When you give up sugar, you either go cold turkey (like I chose to) or you pick your way through, twist and turn and lift up the bigger branches and bend down and over and slowly get to the open field.

This recipe will take you about 5 minutes to put together an about 10 minutes to bake.   Turn on your oven to 325* (you already have all the ingredients, take a chance), put on a really cute & sassy apron, turn on the music really loud (this morning I chose Mr. Darius Rucker, tall dark, handsome & can sing….all good qualities in a kitchen partner)..dance a bit……..this recipe can wait 3 minutes for a great song.  Were you singing into the microphone (orange polka dot spatula) like me?

Peanut Butter Granola  (adapted from The Kind Life)

Grab a pan ( my favs are Fat Daddy-Oh and USA*Pan), I am one lazy girl, I line mine with parchment paper as it is way easier come clean up time.  I would rather spend my time chomping some great treat then to stand there scrubbing a pan.

I triple the recipe because that is the amount that will fit in my favorite pan.  In a saucepan on medium heat, add 6 Tablespoons DSC08186homemade or natural peanut butter (watch those labels) 6 Tablespoons Raw Honey (or real Maple Syrup) and heat until melted a bit.  Stir in 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon (buy the good stuff, Penzey’s fancy), 3/4 teaspoon real vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon real salt then pour it all over  3 cups of Oats.  Now, here is where you can get silly, this morning I tossed in sliced Almonds, Flax seeds, sunflower seeds and Dried Apple bits (Bob’s Red Mill).  Mix and then mix some more.  Spread it in your pan and slide into the preheated oven for about 10 minutes.  Take a peek, you want some really good golden brown color.  Oh, the smell it sort of catches you by surprise.   So good, so toasty, so nutty…………oh my stars…. this is one of those good recipes.  You might just go ahead and affix some sticker stars to the top right now.   Now the waiting for it to cool.  We both know you are going to pick at one of those almonds or a piece of dried apple, please be careful.

One last tip, get that juicer out and ready to go.  Grab some fruit from the freezer.  I like the starwberry/mango combination……turn on juicer……put frozen fruit through,  have your silly color (I chose lime green) dish ready under the spout……..wait for it……magic…. out comes frozen fruit “ice cream”.  Turn off juicer and move aside to let someone else use it.  Top yours with a few spoonfuls of Peanut Butter Granola…………I suggest you say grace while you grab a spoon, a napkin and are walking back to the sofa.  No time to slow down here.  For the LOVE of helping a life long friend & feeling needed, take that first bite.  Close your eyes and enjoy every flavor.  Take a moment before you hit the remote, savor, I MEAN IT, savor the sweetness.  This is pure goodness sitting right in your lap.  Before you start your Gilligan episode or turn on the movie, I might gently suggest you go grab the jar.  Um, you might want more, just saying.  DSC08191

4 thoughts on “Time to say Grace, turn up the music, dance & bake!”

  1. Love seeing the orange “pokie” dot spatula in action!!!
    Looks like another keeper — as always, thanks for sharing your treasures…extra prayers on your behalf today 🙂

Comments are closed.