Uncategorized

Speechless

I have a question…have you ever been speechless? Hi, I am one of Daleen’s friends from California. I am the mom of six. Yep, six children ages  30y, 28y, 23y, 17y, 10y, and 6y by the end of this year.

Michael and IThanks for asking, yes, they all have the same mom, me and yes, the same dad, him. Yep, life takes crazy turns some times, and then here we are.

Daleen asked me to stop by and share a bit. Be forewarned, I have never written a blog post before but I have read a lot of them, hopefully that will help all of us today.

Back to being speechless. One would have to think as a mother of six, I would/should/could have much to say. But today, I am speechless about the violence that has taken place this week. I mean, what has the senseless attack accomplished? Nothing!! It has accomplished nothing at all. Ask any mom of more than one child and she will tell you that violence begets violence, end of story. “Tommy, why did you hit your brother?” “He hit me first.” Do you hear the whine of that last word? Excuses and no sense of responsibility, when will we ever learn?  Would you please join me in praying for our country, praying for our children, and praying for each other? Life should be surrounded by Love and not violence. It is time for us to allow Love to accomplish His great purpose.

Ok, enough said about that…now onto more savory things. Remember, Daleen just celebrated her 500th post. (Congratulations my friend on  your great blog-land accomplishment. You have done an outstanding job!!)

Well, today I want to take you back to post number 400. If you don’t remember what that post was about, here is the link:

http://sundayschildfullofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/its-tuesday-grab-a-big-ol-soup-spoonsay-grace-and-dig-in/

Go, check it out and then head on back over here.

Welcome back…remember what you read? I am pretty sure you found a recipe for “Loaded Baked Potato Soup.” Now when I first read it, way back when, I was transported back to a steaming, creamy, decadent, bowl of potato goodness, garnished with lots of cheddar cheese, bacon (real) and sour cream. Maybe a sprinkle of chopped chives, but nothing else that could have been considered good for a person’s health, and I am not sure chives can even be considered a health food.

That soup was oh so delicious. Well, for good reasons, we have left that land behind. Except for the few slip ups or on purpose jumping into the old ways, we have been venturing into the land of healthy eating. And then there came blog post number 400. “Loaded Baked Potato Soup,” made with cauliflower. OH GAG!! Whoever came up with that idea? Don’t get me wrong, as an adult I will eat what is set before me. But cauliflower? YUCK!!

I have only had a few times when I really enjoyed it, and that would have been when it was slathered with so much cheese sauce that I couldn’t taste the cauliflower. Oh, yes, I have also eaten it raw, which wasn’t too bad. But to overtake a delicious soup that needs little help, I don’t know if that is such a good idea.

Daleen invited me to give it a try. I said I would and then I put it off. Oh yuck, really, what happens if it is NASTY? There would go my good memories of a delicious, creamy, decadent, potato soup. Now I have to tell you something here…Daleen has never shared a nasty recipe with me ever, no, not ever. Everything she has ever shared has been rockin’ good!! So, today, I have decided to set myself and my tastes aside. Today I have decided to honor my friendship with Daleen, by making “Loaded Baked Potato Soup” with CAULIFLOWER. So off I go. I don’t want to bore you with all the details of making it. I will be back to let you know what I think. Go ahead; find a quiet corner, a good book, maybe a good cup of coffee. I’ll be back in a bit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, I did it. I made it. What was I ever thinking? “Loaded Baked Potato Soup” made with CAULIFLOWER is out of this world FANTASTIC. Being a taster myself, I tried the pureed mixture of potato, cauliflower, onion, and vegetable broth. That was good in itself. But then I added the almond milk. Tasted again, oh my goodness…it doesn’t even need the cheese, or the “sour” cream. WE LOVE IT!! My six year old gave me a thumbs up. My sixteen year old said we needed to go right back to the store to buy more cauliflower. Guess what, I agreed with him.

cauliflower

Thank you, Daleen, for giving me the opportunity to enjoy cauliflower in a brand new way. I just might have to try it roasted now.

2 thoughts on “Speechless”

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Jan. I found that I actually enjoyed the process. I just might have to try this again sometime. 🙂

Comments are closed.