grace, haPPY, thankful, Uncategorized

My Favorite Things

Hello!

I am filling in for Daleen today and it is my pleasure to do so. My blog is called Katherine’s Daughter and even though Daleen and I live on opposite coasts, we have become dear friends!

In honor of her, I would like to share some of my favorite things. I love to look for Grace in every day life and these are some of the things that help me feel closer to the God.

DSC_0008I love flowers. It doesn’t matter what type. Lillies, roses, baby’s breath, lilacs, you name it. I am so lucky because I have many beautiful flowers blooming one after another in my yard. The lilacs should be along any day now! Flowers have the magical quality of lifting my spirits when I am feeling a bit down. All I have to do is pick a bunch and bring them inside. I collect vases and have several beautiful ones including clear glass and solid color ones. I love to arrange by not arranging; that is, I love to just lightly drop the stems into a vase and let them land where they may. My favorite birthday or anniversary gift from my husband is a bouquet of roses or whatever flowers are in season. If I lived in Washington state, near Daleen, I would bring her the biggest bunch of beautiful flowers that I could find!

DSC_0002I love rainbows. Maybe I am still looking for a pot of gold but I think rainbows are one of God’s greatest masterpieces. When there is a gentle summer or spring rain and the sun is shining through, I will run outside with my umbrella to look for rainbows. This picture was taken less than a mile from my house and I pulled my car over purposely to snap a few pictures. Can you see the double rainbow? It was magnificent! I pray that God sends a rainbow to Daleen to brighten her day!

DSC_0684I love animals. My favorite is my yellow lab mix, Ms. Jordan. She loves me no matter what and this reminds me of God’s great love for us all. Jordan is very protective of her yard and us, her family. We have eight fancy chickens and Jordan diligently keeps an eye on them. For her reward, she receives a fresh egg which helps keep her coat lovely and shiny. We have had numerous pets over the years- hamsters, cats, dogs, even cockatiels- and we have loved them all. Ms. Jordan is a member of our family, no doubt about it. If Daleen was here with me, Jordan would give her a very wet kiss, I am sure!

It has been a treat to share this moment with you. I hope you have a wonderful day and please keep Ms. Daleen in your thoughts and prayers. Maybe we will meet again some day! Until then….Blessings! xoxo Joanne

Tell me one of your favorite things! I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Things”

  1. Great post Joanne! Some of my favorite things are…my grand children! They brighten my day with their infectious laughter and innocence. Though they often try my patience, they are still the brightest stars in my universe.
    My dog, Steeler and my cat, Smokey also bring me joy also.
    My friends near and far! You all mean so much to me!

Comments are closed.