books, haPPY

crack open summer

The month of June means: bare feet, flip-flops, sparkly pedicures, watermelon, fresh berries, sitting near the lake watching the dog swim for her toy.  It also means, time to put up, the heavy reading and research.  Yes, I mean it.  In our home, researching and reading everything from finance to health is a daily practice.  At least an hour each morning.  We have sort of a routine.  We buy books and order them, we dig deep into a health or wellness topic.  We have oodles of books and magazines and publications.  We devour each.  We talk about them all.  We find nuggets of goodness out of each.  We discuss, argue, think, talk over again and again.   ……..  Then comes summer.

DSCN1038Last night was our first “summer time” trip to the library.  Didn’t even come close to walking down the “self-help” section.  Wouldn’t walk near the wellness shelves.  Went straight to the new titles.  Next stop MURDER mysteries!  wahoo!  Then onto a bit of mystery with a tad bit of romance thrown in.  Oh, the summer months of reading.  Not trying to expand my mind or make my world more stuffy.    As per our tradition, taking the summer months to read for fun.  The rule is supposed to be, checkout only what will fit into your bag per visit, so says the boyfriend who has to carry all those bound books of goodness!  I have fudged a bit and he ends up carrying some, the tote and I carry a few myself.  Sweet.

“It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.”   ―     Oscar Wilde

Last night’s gathering included 6 wonderful crafts to make, kid felt projects, two lunch cookbooks, one book of art to gaze upon, one book about decorating, several murder mysteries and so forth. Oh and there might have been a book or two on Chickens!   The bag was over flowing.  Lucky for me, on our last trip to Oregon, I came across a new pattern to make a bigger library book bag!!  Yahoo, bring it on baby!

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”  
―     Dr. Seuss

So it is with bare feet and a sassy fresh pedicure of opi Peru-B-Ruby toenail polish, that I bid you a cheery Bon Voyage as you fall into the wonderful world of summer books.  Pour that glass of ice tea, whip up a tall glass of homemade lemonade (with agave syrup), put your tootsies up, crack open that first book of the summer and indulge.  Yes, you read that correctly, indulge in the lovely world of Reading for Fun!  Yes, fun.  FUN.  I am going to let my mind wonder and twirl and swirl.  I am going to jump into the murder mystery with gusto.  I am going to fall in love all over again on some secluded warm beach with fresh, entertaining characters.

I started last night with Luanne Rice’s book “The Geometry of Sisters”…………so far so good.

I use to host a book club.  I loved it.  I think I loved it more than other people loved it.  So for now, this will be my book club.  I promise to fill you in on great and good books that I devour over the summer.

Love to hear what you are reading.  Please share!

“You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.”  
―     Ray BradburyimagesCA9RS99L

