cooking, grace, grateful, haPPY, pure goodness, thankful

angels among us

We spent yesterday afternoon at the grandgirlies home.  We celebrated a birthday and Father’s day with a sumptuous lunch.  Fresh grilled Halibut and all sorts of grilled vegetables.  Oh, I should tell you of the little mini stuffed peppers (some stuffed with fresh tuna mixture and some stuffed with cashew herb “cheese”) for the appetizers.  Melt in your mouth heavenly. So good, really sooo very good.

angel food cakeWhile lunch was heavenly, dessert was served.  Oh my stars, fresh made lemon curd, fresh blueberries, fresh raspberries and Angel Food cake.  My all time favorite cake.   Now, you know, I am not eating any sugar at all.  Yesterday, was a dip in my resolve.  I wanted it and I wanted it badly.  I had a piece, with a big glob of luscious tangy & sweet curd slathered on top.  It was just as I imagined.  So sweet, so good……………so good in fact, I helped my self to seconds………………..hold onto your britches…………..I had THIRDS!  I just couldn’t stop.  Yes, that good.   I felt really, really guilty.  Then our dear sweet daughter in law casually said, I am not sure why it didn’t raise as well as my last angel food cake, um, must be because I used agave nectar in place of the sugar?  The lemon curd tastes as full-bodied as ever even with the agave nectar. curd

Really?  I was just forgetful for a moment & dumbfounded at how thoughtful and kind that girl is over and over and over.  To make a heavenly dessert with ingredients that I can have (even though it wasn’t my birthday nor am I a father to celebrate).  Made my heart sing.  Simply sing.

We are, each of us angels with only one wing and we can only fly by embracing one another.  Luciano De Crescenzo

  

4 thoughts on “angels among us”

Comments are closed.