grace, grateful, great marriage secrets, haPPY, healing, wellness

ch…ch…ch…ch…changes

imagesCAXSK59YThe Happy Herbivore commented on her editor: Nichelle, was at the salon and her stylist asked her if she could have the Atkins bar he was eating. Nichelle said, “I don’t know if I ‘can,’ but I wouldn’t!” LOVE that powerful thinking. It’s not that you can’t have something, but that you CHOOSE not to!

I have chosen to make a million changes in the past 150 days.   Yes, today is day 150 since I began this journey of wellness.  It is not over, I am still in the middle of the medical drama & stupid medical appointments, however, my mind has changed. Strike that, my life has changed.  No longer do I view sitting in a deck chair, in the sunshine for at least 30 minutes “lazy”.  I am getting the vitamin D I so desperately need.  I no longer think of 22 minutes of tapping, 20 minutes of yoga, 4 miles of biking as “goofing off”.  I need it to live my life with health.

Today is day 150 of some new blogs that I follow.  I deleted some face book threads that I used to follow & I choose to follow healthier, funnier threads.  Today is day 150 without some old cookbook favorites which have been replaced by dozens of new cookbooks.

150 days later equals two new pairs of cowgirl boots, one new pair of loafers, five pairs of new shoes and one new pair of bling covered sandals.  I am not sure how new shoes and boots helps you heal, but it is sort of working for me.  Who knew, new footwear would equal steps towards healing?

Inside my kitchen cupboards is where I hang a lot of my kids art work and pictures.   Makes me happy to see those when I open a cupboard.  Slowly, the grandgirlies pictures and art work are bumping their father and Uncle’s works aside.  I have taken down all the pictures of bakery cases that I have visited.  I have taken down all the glorious desserts I took pictures of.  I have replaced them with places I have visited or new smoothie or juicing recipes I have found and want to try.  Pictures of me and Mr. Right and the dog at the beach are covering several inside cupboard doors.

I am proud to tell anyone who will listen:  I vacuumed the entire house today!  I made dinner!  I made our bed!  I walked the dog two miles!  I did the laundry!  I was able to iron again!  I pulled some weeds!  I drove to the library by myself!  Brushing the dog for 20 minutes every other day is something to be proud of again!!!  Doing a stack of mending because I can, is amazing.  Cross stitching a wedding gift or a thinking of you gift, rocks my soul.  Using my sewing machine again to start a quilt and make a couple of sweet mermaid dolls is happening.  Embroidering a kitchen towel and sending it to a friend, makes me happy to accomplish a thank you project. 1000043_378888558889743_650423397_n

Today is day 150 without sugar or dairy.  Today is day 150 without a store-bought “fancy” coffee drink (that by its self is a huge accomplishment from this Pacific Northwest girl).

Today is also day 150 without a few friends & acquaintances.  They couldn’t find a way to be my friend.  Big news flash, I chose a way to thrive without them.

No longer is juicing a “nice” thing we do that is “good” for us.  It is how we thrive in our daily lives.  I drink fresh juice three times a day.  That is a LOT of vegetables and fruits.  For the past 150 days, every single morning, I have had a glass of juice (yes, even on vacation).  That equates to 450 carrots, 150 red peppers, 150 oranges, 75 lemons and 12.5 feet of turmeric root in just 150 days!  Guess how many times we run out of carrots?  My afternoon juice and our evening juice varies from day-to-day.  Sometimes it is the powerful “mean green” juice & every once in a while a smoothie is tossed in for fun.  Most days it is a combination of vegetables and fruits.  If we keep the ratio to about 80% vegetables and 20% fruits, we are right in the ball park of how much sugar we want to ingest through fresh fruits.  However, when summer berries and refreshing watermelons are abundant, that ratio sways to include more local fresh goodness.  imagesCAUBCCO9Our juice usually consists of cucumbers, parsley, cilantro, lettuce, spinach, beets, carrots, kale, lemon or lime, green apple, pear, pineapple, cranberries, blueberries, sometimes tomatoes, always fresh ginger and always kale.

Today is also day 150 with a gaggle of friends & family who have shown their true colors.  They are mighty.  They are fierce.  They are loyal.  They have visited me, given me oodles and oodles of support.  I have a basket FULL of cards that I read and read again and again.  I have read so many uplifting emails and text messages I can not count them all.  I have a quilt that helps me every day.  I have been given books & fresh honey, lotions and potions and magnets, candles and bracelets.  I have been given flowers and plants (still working on my green thumb) and a kite & balloons.  I have a couple of angels that watch over me.  One holds a bouquet of lavender and one wears a jaunty red dress.  I have cowgirl boots and earrings and a pin.  I have a fleece blanket and a jar of shells.  My family in Vermont sent me POPCORN!  You know I loved that!  I have a cross and just yesterday a huge bowl full of cherries!

My granddaughter has painted me pictures.  My daughter in law has made me soup and more soup.  My kids have sent me so many funny jokes, videos, photographs, quips………..my sides should hurt from laughing so much.  Today is day 150 of people hanging in there for this long and being so kind to me.  It is much longer than I ever imagined it would be.

Not all 150 days have been positive and uplifting and “we can overcome this”.  Some days are tough.  Some nights are very long. I won’t lie, some days are really, really ugly.

Today, day 150, I choose to be grateful for what I have.

Today is day 150 of changing my life.  I don’t cry in supermarkets nearly as much anymore.  I don’t throw a tantrum (I may still grunt quietly) every time I see the color pink.  Yes, I have gotten rid of 95% of all my pink clothing.  I have replaced  & changed that color with lots of wonderful colors, because I choose too.

Mr. Right has never wavered.  Not once in 150 days  (well more like 31+ years).  He has continued to write me a letter each and every single morning.  He makes my morning juice every single day.  As I type, there is a card and a saucy bunch of Dianthus, in a vase with a jaunty black and maroon plaid bow sitting next to me.dianthus I receive flowers at least once a week.  Sometimes more.  He has brought home flats of strawberries and raspberries.  He has driven me to the beach.  He has packed picnics and planned Saturday outings.  Hold onto your hats.  He gave up sugar and dairy right along with me.  He didn’t have to.  He chose to.  He went through every single cupboard and threw out or donated all the products we no longer were choosing to eat.  He did the same with our three freezers.  He has planted cheerful flowers.  He has gone into “girlie” quilt shops with me  (when I was a little unsteady on my feet) and not complained once about being the only guy in the place.  He gently encouraged me to eat my breakfast and drink my juice.  He cleaned out my closet and “made me” buy new things and say goodbye to old things.  He has held my hand and listened to me cry and vent and complain and repeat myself over and over.  He has gone through every single treatment and appointment with me, never missing one.  He always put me ahead of anything else.  He never changed & even though I would be a horrible team-mate, I know for sure, deep in my gut,  he would always choose me to be on his dodge ball team.

I am not what happened to me, I am what I choose to become.  carl gustav jungorange flowers

10 thoughts on “ch…ch…ch…ch…changes”

  1. Oh my, what an inspiration! I love how you are embracing change and making a healthier you! I wrote a blog post on “my body is a temple” a while back and I too am embracing a different way of eating and living this year. I feel better and have way more energy this way!
    Love love love you and sending you blessings every day! Joanne

    1. Hi and thanks for stopping by. I am going to go back in your blog and read your post.
      Sincere and heartfelt thanks for helping me make it to day 150. Here’s to 150 more and beyond.
      Love you back a million times over.
      Thanks for your kind sweet spirit. It bathes me in Grace every time I hear from you.
      D

  2. Your journey inspires me to be a better person, each and every day. You are a precious jewel in my life.

Comments are closed.