grateful, haPPY, pure goodness, recipe, thankful

chocolate covered gems

Saturday, Mr. Right brought home another flat of fresh strawberries as well as raspberries.  Be still my heart.  Oh my stars, simply lovely and luscious.

Now ya all know, I am not your biggest chocolate fan.  However, once in a while, little gems of pure goodness gently dipped into some silky smooth, dark sweet velvet robes of magic are just what this girl needs/craves/wants.

DSCN1236The strawberries have to be just picked and red through and through, washed and dried.  The chocolate has to be  (evaporated cane juice, natural chocolate liquor…non alcoholic, non-dairy cocoa butter).  Melt those little chunks of dark glossy goodness.  DSCN1237Dip each of those gems into the silkiness.  Set them gently on some wax paper.  Chill in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes.

OKAY, you got it out of me……………nag, nag, nag,  you just won’t let up……………………I ATE all FIVE of those beauties!  I even licked a drop of strawberry juice that was on the plate.  Yes, I used my finger.  Geesh, did you think I would lick the plate?  goodness.

I am grateful for fresh grown berries.  I am grateful for the farmer and the person who picked them.  I am grateful for Mr. Right’s love of fresh berries.  I am grateful for the person who created chocolate that I can enjoy.  I am grateful for Mr. Right not liking the combination, so I could eat all five!  I am grateful for pretty china plates.  I am grateful for dessert.  I am grateful for weekends.  I am grateful for time to goof off with Mr. Right.  I am grateful for fresh strawberries and red stained fingers.

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”  
―     Charles M. Schulz

 

5 thoughts on “chocolate covered gems”

      1. Exactly…I would have made, well, A LOT and probably would have eaten every one, too!

  1. Mmm, one of my favorite combinations. Now I wonder how chocolate covered raspberries would do. This just might have to be an experiment in the making. 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by. I just happen to have some fresh raspberries. I melted a bit of chocolate. The raspberries pretty much went flat. Great flavor, just a bit too delicate to hold up to the chocolate.
      I hope you try it too then we can compare notes.
      Perfect rainy Monday experiment.
      D

Comments are closed.