cooking, food review, grace, haPPY, product review, recipe

Say Grace, here is a salad that is company worthy

taco saladEveryone, I mean everyone has their “own” version of a Taco Salad.   We love to use, black beans and roasted corn, avocados, cilantro, onions and garlic and on and on……… It seems as though each person you ask has a “secret” in their recipe.    Sometimes, I bake tortilla shells to use as bowls, other times we use blue corn chips.  I love the crunch and am open to all sorts of ways to garner that goodness.

Military wives share.  That is a good sentence.  You ask and they will share just about everything.   From a tip like: saving coins while husbands are away….(fill up that coin jar while they are TDY and when they come home, empty the jar in the yard for the kids to pick up and keep all they find, while you welcome your Mr. Right home with smoochies and more smoochies) to recipes from all over the world.

While I am sure I could talk and chatter away about lip balm to achieve smooth kissable lips………..I think I will share a really GREAT recipe from one of my old Army wife friends today.

This is the best, best, over the moon good  Taco Salad dressing in the world.  You can make it a day ahead and keep in the refrigerator.  You can build your salads and then top with the dressing at the last moment.  I have even taken it on a picnic and drenched our salads in the great out-of-doors.

You will need a blender, a food processor or a Blendtec……….you already know which one I am in love with!  Okay, add 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup (no sugar) ketchup, 1/2 cup oil (go easy on this cowgirl), 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/3 cup Fruit Sweetfruit sweet (so great, where have you been all my life????)  I love that stuff!!!!! ( or use 1/2 cup evaporated cane juice or gasp, sugar instead1/2 teaspoon of garlic saltPush the blend button.  we’re blending, we’re blending…………………  done!    Pour over a can of rinsed (NO SUGAR added, read those labels folks) Red Kidney beans and marinate overnight.  When you are ready for a really flavor drenched Taco Salad………….Set the table with a cute, colorful table-cloth, yes, go ahead, it won’t hurt, gussie up the meal……………..Say GRACE, grab a napkin or two and dig in.  You will have a smile of pure delight as you enjoy that very first bite.  Nothing better than a flavor, veggie packed Taco Salad.    You will love it, I guarantee.  Everyone will be members of the clean plate club!  Then the next time you make a taco salad and you don’t make it, you will say, hey, something is missing?  Oh drat, I forgot to make the dressing.  Or something along those lines.

Enjoy every single mouthful.  I just have a feeling you will.

4 thoughts on “Say Grace, here is a salad that is company worthy”

  1. As always, thank you for sharing with us non-Army wives! I purchased Fruit Sweet about a month ago and haven’t opened the jar yet…now I have a reason to. 🙂
    Happy Independence Day to you and your family!!!

Comments are closed.