cooking, good manners, grace, haPPY, recipe

What day is this?

DSCN1294Somewhere there is a “national day of” calendar kept safe and sound.  Who chooses which day is which?  National Talk Like a Pirate Day? September 19th.  National Popcorn day?  January 19th.  National Go Barefoot Day?  June 1st.   National Sugar Cookie day is today, July 9th.

For several years, while homeschooling, I used a particular book on a daily basis.  The title was something along the lines, “What Happened today in History”.  I would use that while planning my lessons.  Be still my heart, I would JUMP on Johnny Appleseed Day!  John Quincy Adams Day got me all a twitter (before there was such a thing as “twitter”).  Even today, just the thought of  bringing up January 23rd, my eyes get watery.  I become a bit faint.  She said with a tear in her eye, “National good penmanship/ good handwriting day”.  sigh.

So July 5th came and went.  I chose to celebrate it a day early on the 4th.  Shout it out people, loud and proud!!!!!!  Sing it from the roof tops!!!!!!  Glory Bee!  Hallelujah!!!!That’s right, say it with me, July 5th is National Apple Turnover Day!!!!!!!

Warning, warning!!  I  use a store-bought product in this recipe.  It makes it easy and quick and so “fancy schmancy” you can serve them to company.    Go to the store and purchase a box of frozen puff pastry.  About $3.50.  Thaw in your refrigerator.  You will be sending me a thank you note before long!  Making your own puff pastry is a wild ride to say the least. imagesCA9W5FRG

Heat your oven to 450*  Get that thing smokin’ hot!  I mean it, chilled dough into a piping hot oven is like magic!  Peel and cut up a couple of Granny smith apples into little 1/2″ cubes.  Toss those puppies (again, the apples not puppies) into a black iron skillet (you might as well get some iron while you are making dessert, right?)  Slow and low is our motto here.  You can use a tablespoon of Earth Balance or Butter and a pinch of salt.  Nice and slow, we are looking for an intense, caramel color, maybe 20-30 minutes.  Then I added in a Tablespoon of Fruit Sweet or you can use sugar.  Make sure if you use sugar it dissolves and mixes in well.  imagesCA5AI4EH

Take your puff pastry out of the package, roll out on a lightly dusted counter top.  Use a rolling-pin (or a wine bottle or a water bottle or press out with your open hand) to flatten the dough out a bit.  Use a pizza cutter or knife and cut into for equal parts.  Use one 1/8 of your apple mixture and plop it into the center of each square.  Brush edges with water, fold over into a triangle, seal edges with fork tines.   Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Brush with egg white wash.  Repeat for eight turnovers.  Bake them for 15-17 minutes until you almost melt from the heavenly aroma wafting from your kitchen.  Let cool completely (I know, right? Hardest part is waiting, please try, those apples get so hot).  Then make some powdered sugar.  WHAT???  WHOA NELLIE!  Yep, I said MAKE some powdered sugar!  Put some evaporated cane juice in the Blend Tec and blend.  Done.  Powdered sugar!  So cool, right?  Okay, make a little drizzle sauce.  Some powdered sugar, a pinch of real salt, a splash of real vanilla and some almond milk.  Now, don’t be stingy.  Drizzle on with a heavy hand.  Nice and thick and swirl it all over those triangle beauties.

By the time these “take your breath away” beauties are cool enough to drizzle with frosting, you better SAY GRACE while you are finishing the last one.  I am not kidding.  You think you are strong and mighty.  You are not!  You will be eating one, stuffing it into your mouth more than likely, before you are able to place them all gently, like Martha Stewart, on a festive plate and serve to your family and friends.  Oh did I mention, zero guilt?  Oopsie Daisy.  Amazingly delicious and you will be so proud to serve something this good to your kin folk.  Actually, these are so good, even Emily Posts’ great, great, Granddaughter might lick some of the frosting off the plate, with her little pinkie up in the air of course.    National Good Manners Day?  May 1st.

The test of good manners is to be able to put up pleasantly with bad ones.

4 thoughts on “What day is this?”

  1. How do you do it…so many wonderful memories of days gone by…so many wonderful ideas for today and tomorrow. Thanks for the wonderful read this evening.

  2. Hi there, “how do I do it”? You are the one who started all this! “you should write a blog’! I write down lots of stuff to get it out of my head and onto “paper” so I can sleep like a baby. 🙂
    You know me, I love a theme! I hear what day it is and go with it. Happy Early Birthday, Rembrandt…July 15th…………going to be a party!
    Thanks for stopping by.

Comments are closed.