cooking, good manners, grace, grateful, recipe

cake? yes please!

Dry, boring, thoughts of cardboard come to mind……….I am speaking of most “healthy” cake treats that are usually offered up by the masses.  I try, oh, believe me I have tried.  I have sought out the odd ball flours, the “secret” ingredients that you can only find in the not well-lit, health food stores that charge waaaay too much.    So it is with reservations, when I see a glorious picture of a moist, lovely cake that can be enjoyed by all.  okay, we will give it a try.  Notice how I do not share all the so-so dry boring cake recipes?  You’re welcome.

blueberriesFirst, having a cute hot pink pedicure, I am bare foot.  You can’t see a lively pedicure under socks and sneakers, geesh.  I step bare foot out onto our deck.  I have the one cup measuring cup in my hand.  I start picking.  I can hear the chickens chirping a hello to me.  The dog is rolling happily on the grass nearby.  In about 5 minutes I pick a fresh cup of intense saturated color and flavor, blueberries.  I am lucky.  We have two huge bushes growing right on our deck.  Doesn’t get much fresher.

Turn up that music and tie on a flirty apron.  What you don’t own a flirty apron?  Why not?  Please, for the love of girlie girls everywhere, do not tell me you are wearing an old, faded, college logo apron that is dull and stained.   Get out paper and pen right now…………I will wait………………okay, write at the top, “My Christmas Wish List”  1.  cute, flirty, sassy, uplifting, happy, charming apron (I promise to bake and cook more if I look saucy.).    Good.  done.  Now back to our scheduled program.  cake.

This recipe was shared by way of www.peasandthankyou.com  She has a wonderful site and you will fall head over heels in love with her girls.  Very uplifting and she is one smart cookie that somehow makes you believe you can feed your family healthy food that tastes wonderful.

Lemon Blueberry Snack cake ……….take it away!

Preheat your oven to 350*.  Line a 8X8 inch pan with parchment (that way you don’t have to add any extra oil).  In a large bowl, combine, 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 cup oat flour (throw 1/2 cup oats in the Blendtec and whirl into flour, ta-da), 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder & 1/2 cup evaporated cane juice (or sucanat or sugar).  In a smaller bowl whisk together, 1/3 cup melted Earth Balance (or butter), 3 Tablespoons lemon juice (fresh please), 1 Tablespoon lemon zest, 1 cup non dairy Yogurt, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla & lemon extract, 1 fresh egg (or 3 Tablespoons water + 1 Tablespoon ground flax, whisked), 1 cup fresh picked Blueberries.  Add lemon mixture to the flours and stir just until combined.  Fold in the berries.

Pour batter into pan.  Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Serve.  I dusted ours with a bit of homemade powdered sugar.  For that fancy schmancy touch, toss a couple of blueberries on the plate and a curl of lemon peel.    DSCN1309

Invite that someone special to join you at the table.  Use the jaunty, colorful placemats, get the dessert forks out of your silverware chest, YES, the “good” silver,  put your napkin in your lap, SAY GRACE, (oh, you want to put your heart and soul into this Grace, it is truly something to be Grateful for) take your fork and pierce that sweet, slightly crisp, upper edge and let your fork slide through the intense blue nuggets of sweetness.  Take that first forkful and put it into your mouth.  Close your eyes, slowly chew that first moist, slightly sweet, slightly tart bite.  Seconds?  Don’t mind if I do!   yes, please!

Take big bites out of life.  Moderation is for monks.

5 thoughts on “cake? yes please!”

    1. Big huge helpings are the way to go with this one!!! The baking pan is part of my weakness. I have a collection of Polish Pottery. Um, maybe it makes the food taste better? That will ease my shopping for more “needed” pottery. ha
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing dessert with me!

      1. I am absolutely convinced that the pottery or the colour of the plate make the food taste better. Sigh, I have such a weakness for pottery too.

  1. Thank you for sharing this delicious treat. It could make one become a coffee lover…
    Looking forward to giving it a whirl (hehe) when my blueberries are ready.

Comments are closed.