cooking, haPPY, healing, pure goodness, recipe, wellness

a LuLu of a dessert recipe to share

Have you ever gone into the kitchen, turned on the water and let it run?  You know what I mean.  Turned it on and let it run to drown out the sound of you sneaking a “fun size” candy with the crinkly (yes, it’s a word in my world) wrapper.  It doesn’t matter if it is kids or animals you love, you would NEVER give them sugar, that would be very bad for them and their health.  Apparently, we love our animals and kiddos more than we love ourselves?  weird.

Fast forward, to what feels like a few hundred years and for sure more than a few hundred hours of health and healing research.

This next part of my blog post is dedicated to some homeschooling girls in California who are rocking the school thing today!

I want to tell you about all the wonderful proprieties of raw honey.  Wait, I bet you have already learned oodles since the Romans, Greeks & Egyptians used it for healing over 5,000 years ago. Calms nerves, induces sleep, eases pain, heals wounds, enzymes that produce hydrogen peroxide, mild antiseptic, proven to often eliminate the need for antibiotics……. I am not reinventing the wheel here.  Okay, how about if I tell you all about the virtues of the amazing healing power of coconut oil.  Cocos nucifera – Tree of Life, kills viruses, kills bacteria…sound familiar……… again, thousands of years of medical healing, why on earth do we continue to think we “know better”.

Next lesson: Theobroma cacao……..cacao tree………………chocolate anyone?….eaten by Mayans as early as 600 CE.  The healing properties of dark chocolate have been well documented.  Do antioxidants sound familiar?   Get on the internet girls………….there is more information at your fingertips than you can possibly imagine.  It is a whole huge world of learning, free for the taking!  Three words to research three great things about:  Raw HONEY,  COCONUT OIL and CHOCOLATE.

I, for one, am aligning myself with thousands of years of successful healing.

This next part of my blog post is dedicated to a girlfriend who has chosen today, to stop ingesting all white sugar.  First and foremost a jaunty tip of the Easter bonnet to you my friend.  Well played.  You love yourself enough.  Yep, more than enough.  You have made a great choice.  Is it easy, HECK NO.  Will I hold your hand and help you? You KNOW IT!  Today is day 233 of me giving up sugar.  Yes, I keep count.  It makes me proud of me!  Will I share recipes?  More than you have time to make and eat.  Have I got a LuLu for you today!

You know that moment when you bite into a Peppermint Patty?  Your tongue gets that hit of icy cold, fresh when you breathe in chill?  If you were a smart cookie and I KNOW you are smart because you just told me you have given up sugar…………….you stored your Peppermint goodies in the freezer and that first snap is a sound like no other.  You close your eyes and breathe in and you love the sweetness that caresses your tongue as it slips down your throat and you get a small fleck of chocolate right in the center of your WHITE t-shirt…………..drats………………still sort of worth it….. then the guilt.  It’s just a “fun” size what could be so bad about a fun amount of poison?

Hold onto your Easter Bonnet and let’s make some decadent dessert!  YES, you are worth it.  So am I.  Yes, my Mr. Right is so worth it.  Your kids are worth it.  This is what I would call a worthy dessert.  Of course you shouldn’t have treats every day.  Then they wouldn’t be called treats, duh.  This creation is what puts a little spring in my step and a silly grin on my face now and then.

Please pass the Peppermint Patties sounds so much cooler and sweeter and rockin’ than, Please pass the Medicinal Dessert.  Don’t cha think?

DSCN1776Okay, put 1/2 cup of coconut oil, (solidified in the refrigerator if it is hot where you live), 1/4 cup raw honey, and 1 drop of essential peppermint oil into a mixing bowl.  Turn on the mixer with a paddle attachment and give her a spin.  Okay, clean off the beaters and put the bowl into the refrigerator for 5 minutes, mix with a spoon and chill for another 5 minutes.  Put some wax paper onto a plate and form your patties with your hands.  Go quick like a bunny, the heat from your hands will melt the oil.  Pop into the freezer, while you clean up and melt some chocolate.  Did I say chocolate?  Yep, find some vegan chocolate that is nice and dark and healthy.  Melt some and if some happens to drip onto your finger, well by all means lick it off quick.  You don’t want it to drip on your white t-shirt!  geesh.

Now, take out your patties and enrobe (love that) them in chocolate.  Put back onto the wax paper and chill.  Choose a plate, fancy it up Nancy!  Use a doily and put your glorious dessert arranged sweetly around the plate.  Tell NO ONE!  Hide in the back of the refrigerator.  …………..Jeopardy music playing here………….make juice, make dinner, set table, say GRACE, eat dinner, chat, chat, chat………….oh is everyone done?  Why don’t I go get dessert?  Smiles, people wiggling in seats, hands clapping, Mom’s halo is glowing as she returns to the table with a plate of HEAVEN.  DSCN1778

What’s this?  Oh it is just something I threw together.  Okay, kids, please only take one or two……….you don’t want to over do it on dessert.  🙂  Oh, and maybe Mom wants to store some in the freezer for, say a special indulgence when needed.

Homemade Peppermint patties are so divine and so delicious, you will never see a commercial about them.  They are “that” good.  No marketing or advertising needed.  Trust me on this one thing.

DSCN1781Hey, girlfriend, how’s that for your first no sugar dessert?  You on board?  Love ya!

I don’t think I’ve ever seen pie advertised.  That’s how you know it’s good.  They advertise ice cream and other desserts.  They advertise the bejeezus out of yogurt, but I haven’t seen one pie commercial.  ~Adam Carolla

Ps.  Since I adore keeping track of numbers, that my friends was my 600th post!  WOOHOO!

ps. ps.  full credit and a friendly salute to this wonderful site that has inspired & shared so much  http://thecoconutmama.com/

2 thoughts on “a LuLu of a dessert recipe to share”

Comments are closed.