grateful, seek, wellness

“p” is for passion, pure goodness and …

pomegranteIt is the oldest known fruit to man.  It is the most powerful, nutrient dense, anti-oxidant of all fruit.  It contains potent anti-cancer and immune supporting effects all in one package. It is a universal symbol of health.

As you may know, I have been on a mission of seeking wellness and strong good health.

Sometimes, I learn, I eat, I then want to share.  Just in case you missed that day in school and didn’t know all the wonders of this amazing fruit.  Ah, another thing they didn’t teach you in school.  sigh.  Well, let’s change that.  Today’s lesson begins with the letter “p”.  Yes, I have eaten and enjoyed this mighty fruit for a few years.  Until recently, I knew they were “good for you”.  Now, I know the rest of the story!

In America we have the luxury of buying fresh Pomegranates from September to January.  Did you know that one glass of pomegranate juice has more anti oxidants than red wine, green tea, blueberries and cranberries?  This amazing fruit can lower bad cholesterol, lower blood pressure, stop tumor growth and help clean out those arteries and build your immune system all in one swoop?

pomegrate seeds on cerealDid you also know that they can ROCK  and ROLL all over a bowl of hot brown rice cereal for breakfast?  Oh yeah, mine was heavenly.  Those little nuggets of pure juicy, tart, sweet, goodness.  Hey kids, medicine does not need to taste bad.

“America’s health care system is in crisis precisely because we systematically neglect wellness and prevention.”  T. Harkin

Last night I seeded two pomegranates.  It took me 22 minutes.   Worth every single second, for I am worth it.  My husband is worth it.  I do not use the wooden spoon, beat on the fruit method.  That usually produces little red dots of permanent dye on the back splash behind your sink.  Unless you are a famous tv chef and just stand in the middle of the room to whack away at the poor little orb of red fruit, and someone else cleans the kitchen mess.  I wear an APRON!  I mean it.  Not your favorite cute one.  I wear an apron because you really need to.  (Or wear that old, stained already, stretched out t-shirt you need to throw away and does not make you smile to wear it.)  I break mine apart and let them soak in cold water.  The seeds sink and the flesh and membranes float to the top to be discarded.  I usually get impatient, and pick up the chunks and sort of roll the seeds out with my thumb.  I know it is my thumb, because today, it is stained a light reddish hue. pomegrantate 2

Get out there my friend, buy yourself a couple.  You are so worth it!  Then come back and tell me if you juiced it, ate the seeds scattered across a salad, or took your hot breakfast cereal up a notch.

We are in this together.  Let health and wellness be our watchword.  WooHOO!

 

6 thoughts on ““p” is for passion, pure goodness and …”

  1. I have only recently had the nerve to try a pomegranate completely by it itself (not mixed into pre-fab yogurts or anything like that!).
    What a treat. They are a wonderful fruit. I just feel like I am touching ancient history too because I can remember reading about pomegranates somewhere and their reference to Greeks.
    So I googled them! Here’s a nice pomegranate story with a recipe no less!
    http://www.dianekochilas.com/new-years-and-the-pomegranate/
    Thanks for the inspiration!
    xo Joanne

  2. I will report back…I have never had a pomegranate all by its lonesome and look forward to trying it!

    1. …and I meant to mention I will have another ‘P’ word to go with my name 🙂 Right now I am known as Pumpkin Patti!

Comments are closed.