grace, haPPY, pure goodness, wellness

90 and hot, hot, hot………sign me up!

Just think, at the end of 30 days, I will have peddled 120 miles and walked at least 60 miles if not more.  I will have stretched and posed in yoga so much that my muscles will be more bendy (yes that is a word) and supple and longer.  I will have used my stretch bands a gazillion times and balanced on my balancing foam thingie..let’s see…10 minutes a day times 30 days…..walking

It takes work, oodles of work to stay healthy.  Not just the food and supplements and fresh air and sunshine and tapping and doing fun things …..it means making an effort to train your body every single day.  Yes, packing in groceries from the car and lugging an overly stuffed library book bag is good for upper body strength……….then add to that other things that make you happy to do.

If we don’t think we are worthy of exercise who will?  If we don’t put ourselves in a place to stretch and move and walk and dance and jump rope……..what will we be like when we are 70 or 80 or 90?

What if being 90 was a great thing?  What if it looked good?  Here take a look, she will inspire you.   She inspires me.  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/phyllis-sues-/aging-gracefully-phyllis-sues-yoga-tango_b_2878155.html

I am excruciatingly aware of the aisle and aisles of processed junk food.  I walked through the grocery store this morning.  It is tough.  Pallets and Pallets of chocolate chips and bark and baking supplies are being trucked in to help us all get in the mood to celebrate the holidays.   It is overwhelming.  Apparently you “need” a 28 ounce can of pre made gravy to slather over your holiday meal.    Don’t get me wrong, I am the first one in line for a glob of gravy (vegan) poured into the little crater in the middle of some heavenly garlic mashed potatoes, it’s just that the marketing and advertising big boys, are encouraging us to sit on the sofa, feet up and fill our selves full to the brim and then make room for dessert.

News flash:  Lays introduced this week, chocolate covered potato chips.  Really?  That sweet salty thing?  Good thing I am not a huge fan of potato chips.  Gee we don’t see the farm boys banning together to make a holiday push on say the glorious wonders of the sweet potato or the jaunty cranberry.

It is tough to push back against millions and millions of dollars spent on the marketing of less than stellar choices in food.

I do have a choice to move every single day.   I have a choice to breathe in fresh air and lots of it.  I like my hair all wild and tangly from being in the autumn bluster.  I love my nose and cheeks rosy pink from the brisk fresh air.  I love how I feel after I have moved and twisted and twirled.

Just think how much happier I will be at the end of 30 days.  Maybe deliriously happy.  Somehow we have to figure out a way to love ourselves enough.

“Love yourself first and everything else falls into line.  You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world.”  Lucille Ball

love

10 thoughts on “90 and hot, hot, hot………sign me up!”

  1. This is so true and really timely for me Daleen. Since my mother’s illness I have taken more care with my eating but not with exercise. Her care has worn me out and some times it is all I can do to maintain my daily rhythm of responsibilities.
    This is a good post for me. I am not into baking (thank goodness) and this year, the cookies, etc are not really tempting me. That’s a good thing.
    Thank you for your inspiration. I need to get back to something physical.
    xo

    1. Think fun and happy. Maybe not a dark and dingy gym with ugly grey sweats. Maybe cute leggings and a sassy hat to take a fun walk in the fresh air with your beautiful dog? Maybe move back that furniture and (go easy on your Mr. Right’s knee) maybe a gentle jig with that man of yours? How about a swimming date with your girlfriend? How about a walk with your sister in law or your sister?

      You got this girlfriend. I am jumping rope right beside you.

      While you are on hold, might I suggest a little hula hooping?

      Physical does mean boring and sad.

      I do better, much better with happy!!

      Love ya from the left coast!
      D

      1. Hula Hooping! 🙂 Last time I tried that I couldn’t even keep it on my waist!
        My girlfriend who is slightly older than me is taking belly dancing. She loves it. Maybe I’ll try that.
        And then there a walking exercise class (Leslie Sansone style- have you heard of her?) that is less than 10 mins from my house two nights a week.
        Lots of options. Just need to motivate myself.
        Thank you my friend! xo

      2. Oh, Oh, my hand is raised…….. I think Belly Dancing would be great fun! Scarves and jingles and swirling and twirling………….I vote for Belly Dancing!!!!

        Yes, I have heard of the walking exercise class. I say give it a try once. Then write about it. It may be your new favorite.

        Stick with the hula hoop. Impressive skill with not much practice. haha and it’s fun!

        Here’s to our health and happiness!!!!!!!
        Hugs from the left coast.

  2. This is a great post!! I love the slide show of Phyllis Sues, too. She is amazing!
    My husband and I recently started working with a nutritionist and are learning so much about our eating habits. Many things we thought were healthy are not and it’s been quite a learning curve. We’re reaping the benefits, though, as his blood pressure drops and we’ve both lost some weight. Now…the exercise piece is next. Ugh. We have been resisting that!

    1. A jaunty tip of the hat to you and your husband!!!! WOOHOO!

      I find that exercise doesn’t have to be all angry and boring and mean and yucky. Find something you love to do. I am suuuuuuurrrreeee you love to dance with that man of yours? What about a fun and happy bike ride? What about yard work and raking leaves or shoveling snow? Maybe matching treadmills and rocking out to some really great and uplifting music.

      Without sounding like a mom, You are making GREAT strides. You are on the road to great health! I for one am happy for you. WAY TO GO!

      See you at the end of November. Just think how much healthier we will both be.

      I will lift you up in a cheer of goodness, today on my walk.

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the inspiration!

      Daleen

Comments are closed.