good behavior, haPPY

Miss Daleen

A couple of people asked about my name.  I was named after my father Dale.  My mother’s middle name is Lee.  So they invented my name, Daleen.  (side note:  I have a sister Coleen Marie and a sister Joleen Marie).  Don’t get me started on the dog’s name growing up.  JoCoDa.   okay, moving on.

Today, I was out doing a couple of errands.  I stopped at a favorite health food place and ordered a sandwich.  I misspell my name on purpose.  After 51 years of everyone and I mean everyone pronouncing it incorrectly, I spell it wrong so that when they SHOUT out my name, they say it correctly.  DSCN2344

When I was in first grade, my teacher pinned a note to my shirt to take home to my mother.  Apparently the note stated that I was being difficult and refused to spell my name Darleen correctly.  Knowing my formal & proper mother, as I do today, I would have LOVED to be a fly on the wall when my mother went to the school to speak with the principal and the teacher to inform them of my name.

I told a friend today what I had done in the deli.  She said, how odd.  Who wouldn’t know how to pronounce your name correctly?  I said 99.9% of the people I meet.   She explained in their home school they teach phonics.  There should be no confusion what so ever.  I don’t know for sure, but I don’t think they teach phonics in school any longer.

My least favorite sound of my name was my mother sternly saying, Daleen Marie.  I knew there was a lecture to come about proper behavior of young ladies.  My favorite way to hear my name is out of the mouth of a grandgirlie.  One says Grandma Daleen.  The other still says Gagma.  Once in a while, the little sweetie, says Grandma.  I am pretty sure she knows what she is doing.  ha

By the way, my egg salad on gluten free bread was a wonderful sandwich.

7 thoughts on “Miss Daleen”

  1. I guess since i pretty much always knew the back story of your name, Ive not had trouble with it.
    I have wondered why I never called you “Day” like I have heard so many do. You are just Daleen to me. lol
    I guess if I were a more thinking type person I would wonder why we werent saying “DALE- een”. 😉 instead of Dayleen.

  2. Nice to know “the rest of the story” 🙂
    I know a young gal named Kila. Her dad’s name is Kim and her mom’s name is Laura. 🙂
    I never would have guessed your name gets pronounced incorrectly…thankful for phonics being taught when I was in school. I still have a vivid memory of my 1st grade phonics book — weird how some things just stick!

    1. Honestly, I can’t remember the last time someone pronounced my name correctly.
      Actually, all the medical appointments and hospital stays, I quit correcting everyone.
      Most give up and call me Mrs. Wilson. okay by me.

      Weird, I can remember my phonics book, too.

      Maybe we were the “weird oh girls”?

      Thanks for stopping by. You always bring a smile to my face.

Comments are closed.