grace, grateful, healing, pure goodness, thankful, Uncategorized, wellness

the color of healing

prayer flags twoHello again today!  I am blessed to have a wonderful girlfriend.  We have cooked up a weekend away for fun and happiness.  So I will be away from my blog for 3 or 4 days.  I am posting a few extra entries in the next day or two.  I don’t want to get behind on my 30 posts in 30 days challenge.

Good thing I have oodles to talk about.  ha   Today, I learned there is such a thing as ghost writers for blogs.  Really?  I write to get stuff off my chest so I can sleep at night.  How does that work?  You tell the ghost writer what to write?  Do you both sleep well?  What an interesting job.  I can say with a pure heart, I write every one of my blogs.  If I have a guest writer I make sure and say so.  Every grammar mistake is mine.  Every spelling error is mine.  Never knew I had to assure my friends and readers that I do indeed write my own blog.  I thought that was what a blog was.  silly.

The five colors are arranged from left to right in a specific order: blue, white, red, green, and yellow.  The five colors represent the elements and the five pure lights.  Different elements are associated with different colors for specific traditions, purposes and sadhana.  Blue symbolizes the sky and space, white symbolizes the air and wind, red symbolizes fire, green symbolizes water, and yellow symbolizes earth.  According to Traditional Tibetan medicine, health and harmony are produced through the balance of the five elements.

The prayer flag is a colorful rectangular cloth, often found strung along mountain ridges and peaks high in the Himalayas.  They are used to bless the surrounding countryside and for other purposes.  Prayer flags are believed to have originated with Bon, which predated Buddhism in Tibet.  In Bon, shamaistic Bonpo used primary-colored plain flags in healing ceremonies in Nepal.

You can learn more about the soldiers and how they carried prayer poles and carried their flags into battle.  Some Tibetan people hang them in the hills to protect their flocks and lively hood.  You see them hanging on homes and barns, doorways.  There is real tangible meaning to the prayer flag. prayer flags one

While we follow a Methodist religious calendar and lifestyle, I am smart enough and wise enough  to have an open mind about other cultures and religions. I don’t think the traditional Tibetan people would mind one little bit that I borrow a little of their prayer power.  They are more than welcome to borrow a little of the “pot luck casserole, blue haired kitchen ladies, and art as  blessings and advent candles to name a few” traditions of the Methodist lifestyle.   I fully admit to needing as much help as I can garner.  While I enjoy sewing for others and helping them through their tricky times, I love sewing under a canopy of prayer flags of healing power.  It is like an umbrella of safety and pure goodness.  I love that they float above me in my sewing room.  The colors some how blend together and offer up their own feeling of health and wellness.  You can’t help but smile when you see them.  You can feel the goodness.

I love seeing the flags wave a bit here and there.  I imagine them brushing off the bad vibes and bad unhealthy things out of my life.  I love the feeling of being bathed in the pure GRACE of healing.

May the healing power of prayer, Grace us all. prayer flags three

5 thoughts on “the color of healing”

Comments are closed.