cooking, food review, haPPY, pure goodness, Uncategorized

22nd time, is a charm

One year, I chose a New Year Resolution of making the perfect pizza crust.  I worked the entire year.  Revising, switching this and that.  At the end of the year, I decided to keep it on my list for one more year.  Two years later, I had created the perfect (for us) pizza crust.  Hallelujah!   You could say, when it comes to perfecting a certain recipe, I am like a dog with a bone.  I just can’t let it go.  I keep notes, I draw pictures, I write down ideas for next time.  I make little notes to myself about parts that worked beautifully.  DSCN2350

After 19 (honest) revisions on my English Muffin recipe….I added the extra twist of making them gluten-free.  Today was attempt number 2.   You can see by my recipe, that I tweak it a bit each time.  I have reduced the temperature each time.  I have adjusted the baking soda on the last 6 batches.

DSCN2345One of the pleasures and benefits of having a daughter in law that is a chef, I get to have instant critique and suggestions.  This morning, a fresh made and freshly toasted English Muffin, slathered in butter was presented to the chef herself.  She closed her eyes at that first bite.  mmmmmm, she murmured.    She said good.  She said if she ordered it in a bakery and this is what was served she would be pleased.  We both agreed to a slight “sandy feel” to the flour.  I might let the yeast develop  15 to 20 minutes more next time.

The grandgirlies wanted to try a taste, as well.  The little one kept eating her piece and then coming to me saying, “more”.  The big girl, liked learning that it was called an English muffin, but wasn’t in a cup cake paper and didn’t look like a regular muffin.  She deemed them “super, duper, yummy”. DSCN2356

Mr. Right will give them a go tonight for a snack.  He always says, yum, so good.  This coming from the same man, who ate my mashed potatoes when we were first married.  No, I did not know how to cook.  haha…. I added baking soda and baking powder to the mashed potatoes because I thought it would make them fluffy.  What it did was react to each other and the starch and as the potatoes sat on the table and the dinner progressed, they right before our very eyes,  started and continued to turn black.  He ate them.  He said they were good.  He asked for seconds.  See why I call him Mr. Right?  urgh, those must have been awful and yet somehow he managed to make me feel good about giving it a try.

English Muffin report November 7th, 2013…………………  Success…..written in RED pen, on my recipe,  while smiling!

6 thoughts on “22nd time, is a charm”

  1. Yippee for Success! You will have to publish your GF cookbook in the near future. I love your story about Mr. Right eating those mashed potatoes! Priceless! He really is a smart cookie! Hope your having a blessed day! Love ya Girlie.

    Blessings,

    Ann

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Love, love, love that you are back in the kitchen cooking up a storm…sounds like you have success but I feel a few more tweaks coming on!
    Hip hip hooray for your Mr. Right — go give him an extra hug in remembrance of his bravery at the table those many years ago!!!
    Hugs and blessings to you 🙂

    1. Haha, how did you know I am going to increase the raise time by 15 minutes? I am going to allow the muffins to spread while in the rings. Think that will help a touch.

      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I promise to give him and extra hug. my pleasure!

      Hugs and blessings right back at ya, sister friend!

Comments are closed.