books, Uncategorized

book look list

library book bagsYesterday while schlepping to the library, I cringed.  I am still carrying a plain, black, heavy-duty, scratchy, canvas, nondescript, thick handle book bag.  Last year, I had envisioned  sewing a heavy-duty, pretty, fancy, carefree, artsy, lovely library book bag.  I even bought a pattern.  The year sort of became bigger than me, and I “misplaced” the pattern.  I am determined to locate the pattern and give it my attention.

Books.  This is on my resolution list.   To weed out some in our home, re-organize our personal library AND To keep track of the titles I read this year.   While some book titles I have to keep track of …”Thankless in Death” by J.D. Robb, because she has written more than a three dozen “…in Death” titles.  I just can’t remember them all.  I have a little book I take with me to the library or when I order library book on-line.    I am beginning a new series by John Sandford “Prey” …a suspense series.  I already know I will have to try and keep  over 20 of them straight.   I want to see how many books I read over the course of a year.

While I love the weekly trips to the library, I thought there must be a quick, easy, useful way to keep track of books for the year.  I came across several apps for your phone.  I found geekdad who helped me narrow the field.  I have already given a couple a try and am trying out a third for a trail run.  Mr. Right says, I can always just keep a spread sheet.  Well now there is an old-fashioned idea, I could try on for size.  Or even more “crazy”, just keep a handwritten list in a spiral notebook.  Gosh, why didn’t I think of that?   http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2013/02/tracking-the-books-in-your-library/

May I pry and gently ask you the reader how you keep track?  Is it more of a modern twist with an app for your phone?  A written list in a scribbler?  A spread sheet?  Or a dedicated site that you follow and keep the list up to date?  Please for the love of Mike…( who ever he was) do not share, if you:  don’t read, can’t remember the last book you read, think reading is a waste of time, or don’t have time to read………….because it will hurt my heart.  Seriously, reading is such a huge part of our family that my heart will literally hurt if I hear reading books: amazing, wonderful, stunning, entertaining, life changing books are not part of your being.

I was sad to end my book review club on-line.  I kept it going for about three years.  The most common comment?  “I didn’t find time to read the book”.  Sort of hits me in the gut, and takes the wind out of my sails.  When I see Library patrons, coming out to their cars with grocery bags of videos, not books I am disappointed.  Happy the library caters to all needs, just disappointed there are no books going to that home.

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”   ― Cassandra Clare

library booksI am not completely in love with the idea of keeping track of pages, weight of the book, dimensions of the book (yes, the different “keeping track people” have several ways of tracking the books.)  I was thinking:  author, title and year I read.  I already belong to https://www.goodreads.com/.  However, I have never used the “share” feature with my friends or friends on face book.  Heck, you know I/we keep track of lots of numbers.  I could just add a tick mark to the calendar each time I finish a book and call it good.

I am toying with the idea of having a day of the week this year, that I review a book I am reading.  I am not sure I want to keep the world informed of every book I check out of the library.  I have varied interests and different days of the week, different genres grab my attention.

Yesterday’s book bag included 15 potential gems:   -if you learn one thing from each book……..time well spent

“Thankless in Death”  J. D. Robb

“Silken Prey”  John Sandford

“Storm Prey” John Sandford

“Jelly Roll Quilts” Pam & Nicky Lintott

“Evergreen Tabletops” Robert Waite

“Share” Edited by Alison Oakervee

“The Art of Decoration” Nina Campbell

“The Modern Quilting Bee, Block Party” Alissa Carlton & Kristen Lejnieks (2nd checkout)

“The Way we Live with the things we Love” Stafford Cliff

“Mason Jars” Melissa Averinos

“New French Country” Linda Dannenberg

“Brave New Quilts” Kathreen Ricketson

“dog joy” the editors of the Bark

“Nosh on This” Lisa Stander-Horel

“Felt Fantastic” Sarah Tremelling

15-20 books are about my limit per library visit.  That is about the number that fit into my heavy duty, well used, dull, uninspired library book bag.  In the olden days, when we home schooled, we never had library fines.  We had Library day every Thursday.  We were teaching responsibility.  Now, when I pay 30 cents one week and 40 cents the following month, I think of it as “such a great deal”.  Where else on earth can you borrow a book, read it and return it four days late, and ONLY pay 40 cents?   We, for the most part, try our very best to be good stewards of the Library system.

I am very grateful that part of my taxes go to help support the library system.

 “Do not read, as children do, to amuse yourself, or like the ambitious, for the purpose of instruction. No, read in order to live.”   ― Gustave Flaubert

13 thoughts on “book look list”

  1. I don’t keep track if what I have read, but have long lists tucked everywhere of what I want to read.
    I can order books online and they mail them to me from the main library in Wenatchee. There is a list in my profile of what I have read. not sure how far back it goes. Ive never thought to look. of course that list wouldnt include books I have bought or borrowed or been given.

  2. I know I don’t read as much as you do, especially this past year when my mom was so sick. But I LOVE to read whenever I can and have devoured many books over my lifetime. It has not occured to me to keep track of them….that’s a new thought. Hmmmm….maybe I will start a book journal!
    Daleen, I think you doing a book review once a week (or whenever the mood strikes) is a GREAT idea!
    My favorite authors are Anne Lamott for non fiction and Janet Evanovich for fiction (her Stephanie Plum novels) and also Anita Shreve (whose latest is always my summer beach read). I love the local library but I also love the used book sellers in Amazon if I have a feeling I want to order and keep something.
    Lately, I have been cleaning out old books and donating them. I have a shelf or two of favorites but I in my quest to de-clutter, I figure if I donate them to the library, I can always go take them out again if I want.
    Maybe I’ll write a post on books. I do love them so….xo

    1. OH please do write a post on books. I love your musings and mix that with books, you will have me in your pocket.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your authors and love of books. I wrote down your suggestions. I will check out a couple next trip to the library (next week).
      Hugs from the left coast, Stay warm my friend,
      D

  3. I have a special notebook which is for writing down the books I have read, the films I have seen and the plays I have been to etc. The notebook I am using now has entries back to 2001.

    1. Oh I love that you shared your idea.
      Sounds simple and sound. For me it sounds easy peasy.
      I am leaning towards the “old fashioned” way of writing down the list myself in a notebook.
      Okay, so I want my notebook to be covered in flowers or vines or happy animals….still a notebook.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing. I value and appreciate your opinion.
      Happy Wednesday! Daleen

Comments are closed.