cooking, grateful

bacon & eggs

kevin baconKevin Bacon, actor, has been, as most know, among other things,  turned into a parlor game based on the six degrees of separation concept.    The concept which posits that any two people on earth are six or fewer acquaintance links (steps) apart.  The idea is to see how few steps it takes to link your self with the said actor.  Side note, let’s not forget his mighty fancy footwork in a very popular movie, we have all watched a time or two.

Sticking with the same concept, I am looking for your recipes.  A friend and I are gathering (get it, we both have chickens) recipes that include the use of eggs.  Yes siree, Bob.  (I have no idea who Bob is.)  I would love for you to share a favorite recipe or two.  PLEASE?  The recipe has to include eggs.  NO chicken recipes will be accepted.  GEESH, people.

Now, here is the parlor game concept.  When you share your recipe, please include what step you are to someone who raises chickens for eggs.  Okay, you know me.  Duh.  That would be one.  My name is Sue and I know Daleen and she gathers fresh eggs daily.  So one.  I was thinking more like, my name is Gabe and my Aunt raised chickens who layed green, blue and brown eggs.  Or my name is Zoe and my grandma let me collect eggs and one time, Lovey the golden chicken pecked my hand and I cried.  The end.   Or maybe you used to have chickens?  Or you have never had a fresh egg in your life?  My name is Lloyd and I buy my pure white eggs at Safeway and I have no idea where they come from.

Yesterday, I made Flock Block cakes. The recipe calls for seeds and oats and feed and scratch and molasses and coconut oil and cinnamon and cayenne pepper……..and THREE eggs.  You mix and bake and when done, if you remembered to poke a hole in your cake, you have a round disk to hang up for your chickens.  They can play and peck and the flock block helps them stay warm and fights away the dull drum on a cold or rainy day, they have to stay inside to play. http://www.grit.com/animals/poultry/chickens/homemade-flock-seed-blocka-warming-winter-treat-to-beat-boredom.aspx

Last night for dinner, I made a black iron skillet full to the brim of delicious fried rice.  Of course I used three fresh eggs in my glorious concoction.

So to sum up……

Kevin Bacon, nice legs and great dancer.

May I please have a recipe or two from your “favorite file”?  I would be most grateful.

Yesterday, I made two Flock Block Cakes and one huge frying pan of delicious Fried Rice, each recipe contained fresh eggs.

January 19th is National Popcorn Day………..let’s get the celebration rolling…………thinking caps on people!

Today, I gathered egg #52.DSCN3018“A true friend is someone who thinks you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked.”  B. Melzer

ps.  You didn’t think this vegetarian, blog writing girl was going to actually share a recipe for bacon, did you?  geesh, people you make me laugh.

10 thoughts on “bacon & eggs”

  1. Love that you are on the bandwagon already!
    I told Jim our idea and when I told him we were not going to have any chicken recipes, he said there should be a disclaimer in the front of the book that says, “No chickens were harmed in the making of this book!” He loves the idea!
    😉

  2. What about Phoney Baloney Bacon! HA
    My favorite cookie recipe since childhood uses 3 eggs…but with a family of six I always doubled the recipe! It has a very simple name: Chocolate Cookies (I know, not very original). It was given to me by my friend, Karla, who did not have chickens! First the recipe then the egg connections…
    Chocolate Cookies
    Cream together:
    1 cup butter (pasture butter please; I’ve also used coconut oil)
    1 cup sugar (organic, of course)
    1 cup brown sugar
    1 tsp vanilla
    3 eggs (from your favorite hen)
    Sift in: (I don’t sift, just stir!)
    3 cups flour (I’ve used whole wheat flour for something a little different)
    1 tsp salt (um, Real Salt, etc)
    1 tsp baking soda
    2 rounded Tbsp cocoa powder
    You know the drill…mix, drop by rounded teaspoonful, bake 8-10 minutes in preheated 350° oven
    These are soft and delicious…you did say favorite, not healthy 🙂

    And now for something completely different:

    “Bacon” Cheddar Deviled Eggs
    12 eggs
    1/2 cup mayonnaise (or vegenaise)
    Amount of Phoney Baloney Coconut Bacon equivalent to 4 slices cooked bacon
    2 Tbsp finely shredded Cheddar cheese (or vegan sub)
    1 Tbsp mustard

    Hard boil eggs (or bake for 30 min at 325° – my favorite way); immediately cool in ice bath; dry off; hit both ends and all sides and peel; slice peeled eggs in half lengthwise. Remove yolks to a small bowl. Mash egg yolks with mayonnaise, crumbled bacon and cheese. Stir in mustard. Fill egg white halves with the yolk mixture and refrigerate until serving.

    Of course I know you and you raise chickens for eggs. We had a flock of ten for a few years and enjoyed every single little egg they provided (they were bantam hens). Also had chickens off and on during my childhood. In the not too distant past, my Mom kept chickens and had eggs to share from time to time. Both of my sisters and my brother have or have had in the past, chickens raised for eggs (their children also showed them at fairs for 4-H). My maternal grandparents had a HUGE chicken house and I have fond memories of gathering eggs there…don’t worry, they spent their days outside! And, of course, I do live in Edgewood, formerly referred to as “Chicken Hill”.
    http://www.edgewoodhistoryproject.webs.com/

    Happy gathering to you, dear friend!!!
    cluck, cluck, cluck (I can make all the chicken sounds!)

  3. Frittata
    Ingredients
    12 large eggs
    1/2 cup whole milk (or substitute 1/2 cup skim milk and 2 tablespoons melted butter)
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    4 large tomatoes, peeled and sliced (between 1/4 and 1/2 inch thick)
    1 pound fresh mozzarella, diced
    2 tablespoons basil leaves, cut into slivers
    Salt and pepper to taste

    Directions
    *Preheat the oven broiler.
    *Beat the eggs and milk (or the whole milk substitute) in a large bowl.
    *Grab a large cast-iron skillet (or similarly sized ovenproof skillet) and add one tablespoon of olive oil. (If the skillet isn’t non-stick, also spray the entire skillet lightly with cooking spray.)
    *Put the skillet over medium heat, then add the egg mixture.
    *Sprinkle the top of the egg mixture with the cheese, basil, and the sliced tomatoes. Then, season the top with salt and pepper to taste.
    *When the edges begin to brown, put the skillet into the oven and let it sit underneath the broiler until the top is set – for about a minute.
    *Take the skillet out of the oven and serve straight from the skillet after cooling for a few minutes, or immediately transfer the frittata to a serving dish and let it cool there.
    *Serve in wedges.

    My name is Jan and the only person I know who has their own egg laying chickens is you. My Grandma grew up with chickens they gathered every morning.

Comments are closed.