grace, grateful, great marriage secrets, haPPY

candy store

You know that feeling you get when you walk to your mailbox, discover the latest favorite shop catalog or favorite magazine?  You tuck it under your arm and figure out the perfect time for thumbing through.  If, like me, you look through catalogs and magazines back to front.  (no idea why I do this, maybe another blog post, another day).  If it is late Spring or Summer, I save the catalog for sitting in the sun, on the deck.  If it is winter, I arrange a time to sit under the electric throw and a quilt on the comfy sofa.  Sometimes, I save the new, crisp pages for the perfect soak in a lovely bubble bath.   I remember back in the day when little boys lived in our home.  I would tuck the latest catalog or magazine away on my night stand.  Then once the house was quiet, I would nestle in a fluffy bed and look and dream and dog ear the corners of things I loved.

Sometimes, once in a while, I would and still do, circle every single thing I would buy if I had all the money in the land.  One time, I circled things I really, honestly wanted and then put a note on the front that said, “Dear Santa” and put it on Mr. Right’s night stand.  Come Christmas morning, Santa was very good to me.  He figured out my arrows and huge smiley faces and big circles with colorful pens.  It worked out beautifully.

keepsake catalogMy favorite all time catalog is from a store called “Keepsake Quilting”.  I have been on their mailing list for ever and ever.  I have purchased several patterns, fabrics, threads…. you name it.  While living in another country, it was my saving Grace.  That catalog has brought me more day dreaming hours than I can count.  I have bent pages and dog-eared so many corners, it really became pointless.  When you have a 100 page catalog and 87 of the pages are “marked” for something great…..well, it looses its impact.  I have cut out pictures of quilts from old publications and pinned them on my dream board for inspiration.

You may know, I live in the Great State of Washington.  That would be the left coast.  Clear across this great land of ours, one the right hand side, is a state called New Hampshire.  That would be the state that the actual brick and mortar store of Keepsake Quilting is located.  A picture perfect New England town called, Center Harbor. center harbor It is located, in what seems the middle of no where.  It ends up being about 2 .5 hours from the Manchester airport.

How do I know?  On our recent holiday to New England, Mr. Right said, we are going a day earlier than planned.  We are spending the night in a wonderful “Dirty Dancing” style huge hotel located right on beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee.  That’s right folks, it was stunning.  I politely inquired as to why the day early.  Then he sprung it on me, we were headed to ……………drum roll please………..KEEPSAKE QUILTING! 

DSCN2761Oh my stars!… and there are a LOT of quilts with stars on them.  It was GLORIOUS.  I was giddy as a school girl with joyful hair just about to step into a  sweet, candy store.    I was so overwhelmed, I did not spend that much money.  SHOCK.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I went back to the cutting table three times for all I wanted to bring home.  It was just so nice and perfect, almost the way I had pictured it.  The nine sales people who were working were so friendly and talked with a wonderful New England accent.  They said it sounded like I was not from around there.  I told them where I had come from.  They all seem genuinely happy for me.  It was really a dream.

I am not that fond of having my picture taken.  Before I even went into the shop, I asked Mr. Right, PLEASE take my picture.  PLEASE!  DSCN2757DSCN2759

The night before I got there, they had received their first snowfall of the season.  It was postcard perfect.

keepsake twoI can still close my eyes and smell the store.  All that wonderful cotton fabric.  I can hear the music playing.  I can hear other customers giggling and plotting their next creative quilt.  I walked those aisles over and over.  I was trying my best to memorize it all.  I wanted to remember it for as long as I have a memory.  I touched and felt every piece of fabric I could.  I bought a  piece of fabric for a friend.  Not to gloat, but in a very real way to share the moment in time.

It was thrilling.  Yeah, like riding a roller coaster thrilling.  My stomach did a flip-flop.  It was a privilege.  I felt just like a kid in a candy store.  Smiling.

See why I call him Mr. Right?  He makes the coolest dreams come true.  keepsake three

A dream is a wish your heart makes and then my Mr. Right takes it from there.  I am one lucky girl.

7 thoughts on “candy store”

  1. This reminds me of when I went to Sanibel Island, Florida with my mom and sisters. I had always wanted to go to the very first Chico’s store and I did it! I have a picture of me right outside the door of that store. I loved every minute of being there and even bought a woven beach bag for a keepsake.
    Lovely story…..thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.