cooking, food review, haPPY, wellness

A-

I have not been able to make a decent loaf of gluten-free bread to save my soul.  Yes, I have tried several different recipes.  I have purchased my own gluten-free flour blend.  I subscribe to http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/

I am on my 5th batch of gluten-free English Muffins.  I am honestly giving it the old college try (WWU go Vikings).  I have made three loaves of English Muffin Bread.  All gluten-free and frankly all not that great.  I am taking notes, changing a bit each time.  Seriously, this is the most frustrated I have been about a dietary change.   For the last 20 years plus, I have had a bowl of soup for lunch with 5 crackers.  I want to whine and complain really loud,  I MISS MY CRACKERS.

We do not purchase much of anything in a box.  Great for other folks, I just can’t have MSG, sugar, gluten…..blah, blah, blah……………………the list goes on and on.  Actually, not one of us should be ingesting MSG or other harmful chemicals.  Or that much sugar.  In the name of health and wellness, we have chosen to stay clear.

I have become very aware of how much I miss bread/toast/waffles/ French toast/cinnamon rolls/crackers………………….

gluten free bread mixImagine the surprised look on  Mr. Right’s face was when he saw a box mix go into our shopping cart a couple of weeks ago?  Stunned really.  I was willing to give anything a try.

This afternoon I grabbed that box off the shelf and gave it a go.  We’re mixing , we’re mixing………….we are rising, rising, rising……………baking……………the heavenly aroma is starting to swirl through the kitchen…………….it smells ……well, it smells like homemade bread!  It seems as though the process of cooling on the rack, takes forever.   Mr. Right offers to slice the loaf.  It is looking good.  Nice distribution of air bubbles.  Nice even bake.  A nice even crust on the top and bottom.

That first taste.  Soft texture, good flavor, nice crust………….. I like it.  I really like it.

Okay, the real test.  Get out the toaster!  It smells good, it looks good.  A smidge of real butter…………….that first bite…………………….Great.  I really, really like it!  Mr. Right likes it!  The dog likes it. toast 2

Tomorrow morning, this family is having FRENCH TOAST with coconut whipped cream and berries for breakfast.  You are welcome to join us and our happy faces.  french toast

6 thoughts on “A-”

  1. Oh, those breakfast plans sound sooo delicious! Glad you found a bread worthy of French Toast. 🙂 Can you tell? I love French Toast!!

Comments are closed.