food review, fresh, haPPY, healing, product review, pure goodness, seek, thankful, wellness

fresh blood, fresh HOPE

If things seem a bit jumbled up in my life, I like to find a tiny bit of calm and sparkly clean.  Okay, it may sound weird, however, people who “need” to be in control find it in the strangest of places.  The kitchen sink is where I find great calm and order.  Okay, I empty out every little thing from the sink.  I fill ‘er up with hot water and add some vinegar.  Let it soak for, the length that it takes to bike four miles (about 21 minutes).  Okay, drain the sink.  Wearing gloves, I scrub and scrub and get every nook and cranny.  I use baking soda and part of an SOS pad and get all the dirt and grime.  When you wash as many vegetables and fruits as we do, that sink takes a licking.  Then I rinse everything clean.  I spray a little more white vinegar and buff that baby (not a real baby, you don’t use an SOS pad on a baby, geesh) until she gleams.  She sparkles and shines.  Even the soap dispenser is spit spot clean and de-gunked.   For the next couple of hours, every time I walk by her, she twinkles and looks so fresh and new.

If I can do that to a kitchen sink, why can’t I do that exact “spa” treatment for my body?

I have a printed list taped  inside one of my cupboard doors.  I don’t even remember where I found it.  I found it about a year ago, it gave me HOPE.  Heck, it still gives me HOPE.  No, it is not a fancy poem, or inspirational quote or the ideal Bible verse.  It is not a list of sage advice from a great yogi.   It reads: “Every cell in your body dies and is replaced by new cells,” his doctor explained… Your body builds…

a new brain in 1 year

new blood in 4 months

an entire skeleton in 3 months

a new liver in 6 weeks

new skin in 1 month

a new stomach lining in 5 days

young coconut 3Yesterday while researching, I spent most of my study time learning about Young Coconuts from Thailand.

It takes 9 months to filter each liter of water.  The fresh coconut water has the highest source of electrolytes known to man.

I learned how to open them, (and ordered the supplies from a GREAT company with wonderful customer service,  http://www.coco-jack.com/ ) how to add them to your daily smoothies and why.

I learned that Coconut water is identical to human blood plasma.  During WWII, during extreme war-time situations, coconut water was used to help soldiers during medical emergencies.  Plasma makes up 55% of human blood.  By drinking the very sterile and fresh coconut water, we give ourselves an instant blood transfusion.  The coconut is a great blood purifier.

Once the coconut water is exposed to air, the liquid rapidly loses most of its organoleptic and nutritional characteristics, and begins to ferment.  So fresh is best. The fatty acids can enhance the body’s anti-inflammatory reactions and help build up the immune system. One person whom I studied, drinks the water of 5-6 coconuts a day.young coconut

If we can clean (purify) our blood, just by drinking some coconut water, why don’t more of us do it?   Why isn’t there a line in the produce department with everyone waiting politely to pick up their 5 or 6 coconuts for the week or day?  When you go into a grocery store, why doesn’t every single grocery cart have among other fruits and vegetables 5 or 6 Young Coconuts?  Why doesn’t every cart have 12-15 lemons?  Why aren’t we politely waiting for the person in front of us to gather their 20 oranges?  Why is the guy replacing all the chips and snacks wearing  work clothes and working, really working to refill all those chips and processes foods? He is bringing in dollies full of those things.  He is moving and bending and stacking and replenishing the shelves.  Why oh why does the produce guy have time to casually talk to each customer buying one head of iceberg lettuce or a “bag o salad” and one gassed hot-house tomato?

young coconut 2Get thy self to an Asian grocery store pronto.  Come on folks, this is a GREAT idea, that we can all easily incorporate.  Sure trying and adding in new things is difficult at first.  It can even be scary.  Instead of putting all that chemically produced white sugar, white flour, white milk, white bread, chips and frozen pizzas into our grocery carts maybe we can find room for a couple of FRESH things that will serve us well.

Change is hard.  I get it.  You are preaching to the choir.  I am trying so many new things, I forgot what it was like to feel comfortable with the daily routine.

No, not every person you know has cancer or liver disease.  Not every person you know has Lupus or Thyroid or an auto immune disease.  HOWEVER, every single person you know, has had the flu bug more than once this winter.  Every single person you know has felt tired or groggy or not “with it” this past Monday.  Every single person you know has a twisted shoulder or neck or strained a leg muscle  or bruised toe.  Almost every single person you know is flirting with diabetes and heart troubles and high blood pressure and more.

If getting the kitchen sink spiffed up and sparkly makes us feel good, why wouldn’t choosing, buying and actually eating and drinking really great things to SPIFF up the inside of our bodies make us feel great and help us on the path of health and wellness?

We need, really need to be kind to one another.  Each person is carrying so much on their shoulders.  We need to share all the good things we have found to improve and increase our health and wellness.  We are in this together folks.  Your health and wellness is reflected in your smile and good karma.  It spills over to me.  I need and want to look and act and be healthy.  I have a family & friends who need that from me.  I need to feel the health vibes from my friends.  I crave it.

Let’s each grab a fresh young coconut and toast each other?  Cheers to our good health!

2 thoughts on “fresh blood, fresh HOPE”

  1. AMEN! AMEN! AMEN! and AMEN!
    As always, thank you for sharing the fruits of your (study) labor. You know I like coconut water and it’s funny, but I actually FEEL refreshed after drinking it. Did not know that it is identical to human blood plasma…very interesting!
    Very comforting to have a kindred spirit on this path of healthy living…

Comments are closed.