good manners, grace, grandchildren, grateful, haPPY, thankful

1,2,3

No one likes a braggart.  Seriously, not one of us wants to hear over and over and over about your “go fast” car, your new $800.00 blinds, your second home, your perfect job that you are so happy to go to each day, or about your brand new wedding set that “he” yeah right, picked out.  Honestly, no one.  Yes, we are happy for you.  We genuinely feel good and sincerely joyful about your good fortune.  We only want to say WOW once and move on.  Yes, everyone is thrilled that you went on a fabulous European vacation.  I am here to tell you that no one really wants to sit down and look through page after page of your scrapbook.  If you ever want to spend an afternoon listening to me ramble on and on and on about the art and pottery of Europe, please let me know.  I will wipe the dust off the albums and we can get started.

If you have the feeling that this blogger is turning into one of those women who somehow pulls a photo album of pictures out of her overly large purse and you are trapped in the aisle of the local craft store, because you don’t know how to politely disengaged………..don’t fret.  You can leave now, but if you do, you won’t get to hear the HUGE exciting news I am about to share!

I happen to live a very good life.  Mr. Right remembers all the “right” dates with wrapped gifts and cards.  He surprises me with cards and flowers, flowers galore on days of no importance.  There isn’t a holiday or birthday that goes by without me getting a wonderful or sweet, or stunning or hilarious surprise gift.  Oh, come on, you know I give just as good as I get.  Here is the thing, no one really wants to hear about it.  Quite frankly, I am a little red in the face to share.  There are a lot of folks out there and in my life that have major problems in their lives.  So for me to shout and scream about a new waffle maker or a silly pun card that Mr. Right gave me………well it just doesn’t sit well.  When I want to jump up and down and scream with joy about a new bobble that I just received, I can very clearly “hear” my mother in my head.  “Young ladies do not tell of all the goodness in their lives, some people may not be as fortunate.  You will hurt their feelings.”  Every single time a vacation is confirmed or a wrapped gift of a book, I had been wanting, happens to magically appear on a regular Wednesday, I want to grab my phone and text a friend.  I want to phone a friend.  I want to share all the goodness and tingles in my tummy.  I am so excited and then I go hug the dog and scratch her head really hard and rub her ears.  She listens and it is okay to be unladylike and tell her all about the happiness and pure joy that I am drenched in.

baby balloonsWith one exception……………………….  GRAND BABIES.  I am unabashed about my feelings.  I take off my proper white gloves.  I politely tuck my polished manners into my little black evening bag.    I really loose my sense of who is “having a difficult time”, “having a bad week”, “too ill to be happy for us”, “don’t tell them, they are still waiting for their first grand child”.  Something comes over me.  I can’t help talking about and smiling and sharing all about my Grandchildren.  For a person who is extremely careful with her brand new knee, bikes four miles a day, stretches, rebounds, carefully steps off curbs, pays attention while walking up and down stairs…………when it comes to GRAND BABIES, somehow, I find the strength and energy to JUMP UP AND DOWN.  I find all lady like behavior pushed aside and I am screaming “WHAT?” like the lady on the phone in “A Christmas Story”.  I am hollering like a farm gal roundin’ up pigs.  I just SNAP.  I am SMILING and dancing a jig and hopping and twisting my hair and waving my arms like a NY policewoman directing 8 lanes of traffic.   This IS the GOOD stuff.

Something must chemically change in my brain when it comes to those babes?  I am a person who will figure out the correct price, with a coupon, for a $2.47 grocery item.  I will debate, research and over think buying one pair of orange loafers for Spring wear for weeks and weeks.   The same person, me, who yesterday, without a thought to price, bought two pairs of light up flip-flops for some Sweet Southern Girls I happen to know.  “It’s for the Grandgirlies”.

Go Tell it on the Mountain!  Shout from a Hot Tin Roof!  123 Jello1,2,3 Jell-O, (Remember that stuff?  I loved it and all is artificial colors and chemicals and flavors.)  Back to my original exciting news……..   I am thrilled beyond anything I could have ever imagined to have 1, 2 AND NOW 3 GRAND BABIES!  Yes, you read that correctly.  GRAND BABY number three is on his or her way.  By the middle of October, we will all be BLESSED to have one more person sitting at our family table.  Soon to be tossing food off the high chair tray to the delighted dogs below.

While talking to the one and ONLY other person in the world who is JUST as happy as I am, the other Grandma, I said, “I sort of want to get off the telephone and go sew something for the baby”.  I am just so dang excited.    I sort of thought it would not be as thrilling as the first.  Then we got really lucky and celebrated number 2.  Stunned Amazement over the giddy, school girl feeling I am having over number 3.   Actually, I think I am getting better at this Grandma “thing”.  I seem to have increased happiness and faster heartbeats with each one.  I seem to be more grateful, more thankful, more dance in the rain happy!  Yes, that kind of happy.

Good Golly Miss Molly.  I woke up in the middle of the night.  Not to go over and over the dull and boring issues I usually “have to figure out” at 3:00 am, but to smile and move around and snuggle in with the fluffy duvet.  I wonder what will be the theme for the nursery?  I wonder what they will name the sweet baby?  I wonder if it will be a girl or a boy?  Mr. Right is overly indulgent, but even he said, “stop talking, please”.

Notice how I didn’t wonder if they will be great parents?  Notice how I didn’t wonder if they are happy and excited?  Notice how I didn’t worry about having enough love to surround one more perfect grand babe?   No, not one bit.

Life is Good.  Counting my Blessings 1,2,3…..Simple as that.  1 2 3 blocks

ps.  dear Santa, I would like a new charm for my charm bracelet.  Engraved with the name…

6 thoughts on “1,2,3”

  1. SOOOOOOOOOOO Happy for You ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Again I say CONGRATULATIONS to the new parents!!!!!!
    Happy Dance (((HUGS))) to you 🙂

  2. Okay, now I get the 1 2 3 Jello! I am so very, very, very, very (did I say very?) happy for you guys and the new parents!!!! How wonderful for the family!! Love to you 🙂

Comments are closed.