healing, seek, wellness

go ahead, take a drink

water fawcetWe are electric – when your cells don’t have enough fluid they lose their conductivity.   While reading this post, please pour yourself a glass of water.  I am not the best at remembering to drink all that I need, I am making the effort and getting better.   Having trouble sleeping or staying asleep, might be because dehydration reduces melatonin?  Hydration helps in all sorts of ways.  I am quite sure you have done your own research.  You don’t need me touting the benefits of water.    Now, I am not suggesting you should drink your body weight in water after 9:00 pm, just maybe give yourself a little grace and have an extra glass or two during the day.

Hold on there partner, before you hike over to the tap and pour yourself a nice tall drink of water………………  let’s talk.  Sure I know it is going to make some people mad.  Heck, I am so mad I want to cry.  Better yet,  I just put on my big girl red boots and screamed Holy Hydration!  (yes, it scared the dog.  oops)

I am trying to find health and wellness.  I am giving it an honest effort.

Why so mad you ask?  We live in a pretty normal, regular, run of the mill neighborhood and town.  We received our water bill for the month.  Very reasonable.  Included in our bill was a Water Quality Report.  Yes, I know some of you are going to say, “we have excellent water, we have well water, we have fresh spring water, we only drink bottled water”…… I dare you to look it up and do the research.  www.foodandwaterwatch.org/water/

Here is what (yes, they are forced by the government regulations to publish a water report yearly) the water company put on the back of the page of their report.  While they list  all the wonderful things their water is doing for us, they do have to put this teeny tiny warning.  I would type it in red if I could.water clean

Some people may be more vulnerable to contaminants in drinking water than the general populations.  Immune compromised people such as those with cancer, those who have undergone transplants, people with HIV/AIDS or other immune system disorders, elderly and infants can be particularly at risk from infections.  These people should seek advice about drinking water from their health care providers…..

“seek advice”?  Make a doctor’s appointment and ask the doctor, “hey, person in a white coat, should I drink water?  Is my water safe to drink?”  What does this mean?  Little kids who are two or three are “fine” to drink contaminated water?  One year olds who are having food and formula rehydrated with tap water?  Someone who is 34 and gets three or four colds a year (sad to say, that means your immune system is not functioning properly), people who have Diabetes, Lupus, Liver problems, Kidney problems, back problems, knee problems and a million other issues are completely “fine” with drinking water that will make our Liver and Kidneys work over time? Drinking water that will compromise our health and wellness?    Are all of those people are just “fine” to get a little bit of infection from our water source?

water 2 I do my research.  Yes, water is something I learned buckets about.  We purchased the Berkey water filter almost a year ago.  http://www.berkeywater.com/start.main.html  We are thrilled with our purchase.  We use it for drinking , cooking, making coffee, offering up fresh dog water…. the list goes on.  We have eliminated fluoride and other toxic chemicals from our life.  We fill our travel mugs to take with us.   Taking the huge filter system with us on the road or to work, um, is not viable.  Yesterday, I was reading about the Soma Water Filter.  Looks and sounds perfect for work and travel.  It might be something to look into.  https://www.drinksoma.com/92685

We are in this together.  We need to help each other and lift each other up.  This is serious.  Why on earth are we okay about the  water being brought into our homes?  Why are we okay with added fluoride?  Why are we not talking more about this?  Why are we not educated about what we are serving our families?  If you can’t tell by my words, I am frustrated.  I am exasperated.  we rise by lifting others

Love to have some of your input and help to educate me.  I am trying very hard, everyday to make good choices about my health and my family’s health. The road to good health seems a bit curvy and twisty.  When I first began this journey towards wellness, I wrote a person who was helping me make better choices.  I said, “I feel like I am swimming up-stream”.  He said, “you are”.

I am soaking wet from swimming up-stream.  I am a bit tired of having to research every single thing in my life.  I KNOW other folks must have done some of this research.  Please, please for the sake of my sanity, share what you have learned.  Thank you so much in advance.  I really do appreciate and value the help.

Here’s to our good health and wellness!

“Water, water everywhere, All the boards did shrink; Water, water everywhere, nor any drop to drink.”  Samuel Taylor Coleridge

