eggs, empty nest, fresh, grace, grateful, haPPY

welcome to our home, please make your own omelet

I will let you in on a little secret, I am not a morning person.  Nope, never have been.  When the boys were little and I needed to be up and at ’em bright and early, I had to have a plan of attack.  Before going to bed, I would measure out ingredients for pancakes or waffles.  I would write huge sticky notes that said ADD 1 EGG or ADD 1/2 CUP of MILK.  Everything as easy as it could be.  I would set the breakfast table the night before.  Not kidding.

So to let it “slip” that I do not possess the culinary skills to fry an egg, might not come as a surprise many of you.  Both boys left for college, “hating” eggs.  Gee, that’s funny?  I wonder why?  Both have since “seen the light” and cook a mean breakfast including eggs.  See, I was just trying to encourage their creative spirit, when it came to: frying, scrambling, poaching  etc…. eggs.  No, I did not earn my 100 pleated chef’s hat.  I can’t even really cook one kind of egg.  Oh, I take that back, I am EGGcellent at steaming fresh eggs for 20 minutes then plunging into icy cold water…. TA DA, hard-boiled eggs!

Son #1 came to visit for a couple of days.  In the morning, I would set the table, pick the fresh chives, pick the fresh mushrooms DSCN4023(yes, I am growing my own mushrooms thanks to a kit I received), I gathered the fresh eggs, purchased and set out,  Irish Cheddar cheese & fresh-baked Sourdough bread.  It was a lovely presentation.  The All-Clad was set on the stove ready for action.   I was trying my best to inspire our house guest to make their own.   Look kids, it is all set up and ready for you to feel good about yourself! Think how proud you will feel by making your own breakfast!DSCN4030

Oh, you made an extra omelet for your mom? 

Don’t mind if I do! Please and Thank You!

Please come back and visit any ol’ time.

 

6 thoughts on “welcome to our home, please make your own omelet”

  1. Oh my gosh – where is the LOVE button???!!!
    What a good egg you raised! (sorry, couldn’t help it)

Comments are closed.