great marriage secrets, haPPY, pure goodness

fore

My dad used to keep his golf clubs in the garage.  One warm spring day, for some unknown reason, my two sisters and I decided to use them.  The front yard had lots of grass and several mounds of tulips and daffodils.  Um, I think you know where this is going.  In one sunny afternoon, three sweet girls, were able to make not one, but both parents so mad they couldn’t even yell.  You know that moment when you see your parents face?  The mouth gapes open.  The hands are gesturing wildly.  They are steaming mad, air is coming out of their mouths, but no words.  Yes, the club heads were covered in grass and dirt and I am sure dinged up from hacking away at the driveway and the rocks.  (I have a feeling any real floggers reading this, just winced.)  The flowers were all pretty much mulch.  We smacked and smacked and swung with abandonment.  Three little girls screaming and laughing and sweating and swinging.  It was all fun, until the parents came out to see what we had decided to do.

I took golf in college.  It sounded way more fun than physical education and the instructor was very, very easy on the eyes.  Turns out, just as boring as I thought it would be.  Cute instructor or not.  practice your swing, practice your swing, keep your eye on the ball, stop day dreaming….

Golf is Mr. Right’s thing.  Not mine.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy going to lunch at different courses.   I love walking around the manicured grounds.  I enjoy watching my boyfriend hit a bucket or two of balls.  I like wearing sunglasses and sitting and watching his “form”.  Haha, my blog, I get to say what I want.  🙂

CAM00380So when the topic came up about golf on vacation, you might be surprised that I jumped at the chance!   Pirate’s Cove ADVENTURE golf.   It was 88* and the sun was shining.  I got to wear a sassy sun hat, saucy sunglasses and snazzy bling covered flip-flops.  It was walking up and down and through caves.  We walked around water hazards and beside waterfalls.  There are treasure chests and curves and twists and hills every where you look.  There was a pond and special effects and noises.  Everyone you meet at Adventure Golf is happy.  They are being silly or giving it the ol college try.  18 holes only takes about an hour or so.  Here is the wonderful part of mini golf……….it is a pretty level playing field.  Even though one person may be an amazing golfer and have won several trophies and have many stories to tell….. and one person has taken one-quarter in college and dropped off two boys to golf lessons an unbelievable amount of times…………………their scores end up being extremely close.

I wish I could tell a lie and say that I won by a long shot.  Dang, I missed winning by two strokes.  However, it was close and back and forth all through the game.  It was all fun.  You leave your troubles and stress at the entrance.  Your biggest decisions are what color ball you want to use (I chose shocking orange) and who goes first.  20140402_115809 (1)

Next time you are on holiday or vacation, stop in and spend an hour having pure fun.  Pure goodness and laughs and giggles are to be found at one of those amazing Adventure Golf places.  Unlike the wet, damp, drizzle state we live in, any state with oodles of sunshine and tourists have really cool, amazing, happy, fun mini golf courses.

Come on, having a date at Adventure golf is so much fun!  It is waaaay more fun than the calm, polite,  gentleman/gentlewoman’s real game of golf.

20140402_121305When was the last time you went on a fun, happy, silly date with your Mr. Right?  Happy, fun, amazing marriages that last 32 years or more, don’t just happen.  You have to practice being happy over and over and over.

2 thoughts on “fore”

  1. I love miniature golf! And my Jim loves golf. Now we know what your husband and mine can do together when we all have a chance to meet someday! 🙂
    You and I? We’ll go to lunch and then shopping for some blingy stuff!

Comments are closed.