chickens, grace, grandchildren, grateful, haPPY, pure goodness, Uncategorized

you can’t eat an egg through the computer

Last night four people were laughing and giggling and smiling for about 20 minutes.  Two “older” people were huddled around the computer screen, laughing wildly at the two best grandgirlies in the world.  Mr. Right and I were Skyping with two people in Alabama.  I know this because the older girl, who is three told me she lives in Alabama.  Only, I noticed a very slight sweet, southern drawl.  Good gravy she and her sister have only lived their four months.

skypeGod Bless the person ( I hope it was a grandparent) who invented Skype.  Yes, I know it has a few bumps and hiccups.  However, from this grandparent point of view, one of the best inventions since “calm down curly wild hair gel in a bottle”.

Some of the time during our chat, the sofa on the Alabama end was empty.  It just made us laugh harder.  Their very patient mom, asked them to please get back on the sofa so the grandparents could see them.

Right before we were scheduled to visit, our dog wanted to be let out.  So, I let her out, but left the screen door open.  I didn’t want to have to get up and leave our conversation to let the dog in and make a loud screeching noise with the sliding screen door.  At some point, the dog came in and settled herself just fine.  Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed movement.  HOLY TOLEDO, the door was still open so one of our chickens took that as an invitation!!  I jumped up and screamed and flapped my arms and shouted and yelled get out.   Then the girls in Alabama started screaming and laughing and giggling.  It all sort of got crazy after that.

We tried to calm down and be somewhat normal.  We asked questions and listened to both girls answering at once.  We got to see how long and curly and beautiful someone’s hair has grown in the last few months.  Said girl was wearing a Tupperware bowl on her head as a hat, some of the time, so the hair do was rather “joyful”.   We got to hear stories and dreams.  It was all tangled up and lovely.

Then I held up two eggs to show them what I discovered in the nest.  The oldest girl laughed and giggled and screamed, “YOU CAN’T EAT AN EGG THROUGH THE COMPUTER”.   Not a sentence I thought I would hear our three-year old grand giggle.

They were bubbly and full of energy and LOVED showing us their “Frozen” pajamas.  Each had a picture of the latest greatest princess on the front.  They explained the princesses names and that Aurora wore an “ambulance” around her neck.  Her mom, gently and clearly said, it is called an “amulet” that she wears.  Oh, yes, she has an “ambulance” around her neck.  Then the grandparents couldn’t stop laughing.

Technology at it’s very finest.  And we got to be right smack in the middle.  Pure Goodness!  Can’t wait for next time. TO  DA  LOU!

grandchildren quote

 

 

2 thoughts on “you can’t eat an egg through the computer”

  1. Love, love, love that story, had to tell my girls as we drive to Costco. Needless to say we are still laughing at “ambulance”! Glad your able to watch them grow!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.