grace, grateful, thankful

grateful wednesday

A couple of years ago, I wrote about, almost daily added a few more, listed and listed until I reached 500 things I was grateful for.  In addition to listing on my blog, I kept a hand written list for several months, five things a day I was grateful for.  I read several books on being grateful.

snap out of itSomething is nagging at me to start listing again.  Something is telling me to SNAP OUT OF IT.  

This past weekend, I found myself teary eyed and complaining about drinking another glass of juice.  Really?  Someone (read that as Mr. Right) makes me four glasses of fresh juice every single day.  Listen up missy!!!!  We have the money to buy all the vegetables and fruits.  We have a very nice car to go get all those supplies. We have access to a great veggie fruit stand, amazing Asian markets, excellent grocery stores.  We have the knowledge to wash and prepare all of that.  I have the brain power to know the juice is healing me.   Heck, I even get to use sassy colored straws to drink said juice with.  (using two lemons a day, one must be mindful of enamel on teeth.) We even have an extra refrigerator to store all those supplies.

Seriously, teary eyed and complaining?  SNAP OUT OF IT!

I have even caught myself rolling my eyes heavenward & slouching shoulders when I see a daily dish full of supplements.  Again, SERIOUSLY?  There are so, so many.  Yet, think it through, we have the money to purchase all of those natural supplements, vitamins and minerals.  We have the brain power to learn about each of them.  They are working.    Not one of those supplements is breaking down anything.  Every single thing I put into my mouth is building up my immune system.

Maybe it’s my poor attitude as of late.  Jeepers, I am even bumming myself out.  yuck.  I have tried several tricks.   I stopped listening to the news after 9 pm.  Golly, do they only have a big stack of horrid, sad, awful news to choose from?   I have distanced myself from “well-meaning” friends who are grumpy and not encouraging.  I have made an effort to get fresh air and exercise every single day. (why just yesterday, four miles on the bike, time on the re-bounder and 1.5 hours of outdoor yard work).

I have come to the conclusion that  I just have to look for, acknowledge, write down, be grateful for,  the goodness and grace every single day.

Let’s face it, the people you work with, live near, or simply hang out with that are the happiest are more than likely the most grateful.  Yes, grateful is a very becoming trait on just about everyone.

imagesCAJQWT7WI don’t know if I want to or care to keep up with a “grateful Wednesday” segment on this blog.  However, I adore  the idea of trying.

Three things I am mighty Grateful for?  Yes, there are oodles and oodles, hard to narrow it down to just three.  I could start with our grandgirlies, as they are pretty easy to be grateful for.  Mr. Right, our Sweet dog, sunshine, health and wellness. A couple of really amazing angels that help me every single day.  By angels I mean girlfriends.  You know the good kind? The kind that let you complain and grumble.  The kind who dance a happy jig with you.    I could list those every single day.  Two wonderful daughter in-laws.  Amazing grown kiddos.  A new GRAND on the way!  Anticipating a beach get away, soon.  A wonderful sewing room full of supplies.  Popcorn stickers my sweet niece sent to me.  Oh, I have a million of ’em.

For today, I am choosing a miracle of miracle to celebrate.  I am smiling and happy.  While biking, my feet peddled faster.  My coffee tasted better.  I could hear more birds singing.  I have a little pep in my step all because of one guy.  (well him and his surgeons and his wife and his daughter and modern medicine technology)

1.  My brother-in-law, sharing his amazing good health with us.  His eye surgery was MORE than a success.   GRATEFUL for him and that he chose to share the moment with us.

2.  My brother-in-law, sharing his amazing good health with us.  His eye surgery was MORE than a success.   GRATEFUL for him and that he chose to share the moment with us.

3.  My brother-in-law, sharing his amazing good health with us.  His eye surgery was MORE than a success.   GRATEFUL for him and that he chose to share the moment with us.

Man, I love that guy.  I am just giddy with happiness for his good health.  gratitude

 

8 thoughts on “grateful wednesday”

  1. My, oh my, we DO have SO MUCH to be grateful for!!!!!!!
    Think I’ll copy your idea and start writing down the things I’m thankful/grateful…something about seeing something that ‘makes it stick’ so much better than just a passing thought.
    Love that you gave your self a pep talk and shared it with us 🙂

    “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

    Love ya!

  2. I have been feeling better after a long winter of ho hum- ness. It was tough to pull out of it but Vitamin D and the emergence of sun around here (finally!) seems to be helping. I am grateful for so much- my family and friends, Ms. Jordan, God and my faith.
    So glad to read your cheery, grateful blog today! xo Joanne

  3. News, news. 😦 ..to be avoided. Actually it’s not so much the news but the way it is reported, over and over, and sensationalised and hyped. I am grateful I can turn it off. I bet you are too.

Comments are closed.