haPPY, recipe

fresh as a daisy

DSCN4732Ever wonder why once in a while, your just  fresh wet laundry doesn’t smell fresh as a daisy?

 

Mr. Right chose shocking red Gerbera Daisies for a special treat on Sunday, just for me.  Good gravy, they make me smile (the flowers and Mr. Right).  Gosh, I can get side tracked easily.

Somehow, we all think because we use and I mean USE, our washing machines over and over and over, that they are sparkling clean.  No way, no how.  I won’t even go into all the germs and bacteria and …….  let’s just agree, all of our washing machines could use a little love.

Sure, some of us have front loaders, some have top loaders.  Some are brand new and others are bragging how old their washers are and they keep on ticking!

It does not matter if we make our own soap, use all natural & organic or buy the rough and tough, knock ’em for a chemical loop with Tide, our washers take a beating.

It’s time people.  It is easy, quick and relatively cheap.

Turn on the HOT water and fill up your washer to the highest level.  Add in 1 quart white vinegar.  1 cup baking soda.  20 drops of Eucalyptus essential oil.  Turn off washer.  Let soak for 20- 30 minutes.  While waiting, put on some really good music, put on those big yellow gloves, get out an old toothbrush and use some elbow grease to get in those nooks and crannies.  Wipe down all the parts, water does not touch with a sponge with some white vinegar on it.   Put lid down and let the washer twirl and swirl all the bad gunk away.  Once done, lift the lid and let the washer completely dry out.  DSCN1434

Side note:  Aren’t you glad we don’t have to go down to the river and wash our clothes with a rock?  I am pretty sure I can’t balance an entire plastic basket of dirty laundry on my head and walk to the river.  The closest river to me is about 12 miles away.  Then once there, I am not sure what to do with the rock?  

Just in case you forgot how happy my washer and dryer look…………..I will add an old picture.  Geesh, I smile every single time, I look at those beauties!  🙂

Hey, while you still have those fancy yellow gloves on, why not remove the lint trap from the dryer?  Grab all the lint and toss or mail to a friend as a joke.  haha…..okay, add a little soap and hot water and a scrub brush………..giver her a good scrubbing.  Yep, all those dryer sheets (9 toxic chemicals) can leave a residue build up and not allow air to flow through the mesh easily. done.

Even if you don’t do anything else the rest of the day, you can tell all your girlfriends what you did on this beautiful Monday morning.  You won’t feel one bit guilty, reading a murder mystery while biking on the deck.  Or maybe that is just me?

 

 

8 thoughts on “fresh as a daisy”

Comments are closed.