quilting, sewing, Uncategorized

BOM July

DSCN4900Halfway through our travels and the globetrotting continues.  July’s Block of the Month,  is called Sydney, Australia.

B-I-N-G-O .  Believe it or not, my Grandma Dilley (the person who taught me how to sew) won a trip to Australia for her and my Grandfather!  While playing Bingo, she won the trip & spending money.  It was the biggest, grandest adventure they had ever gone on.  They had been married about 52 years when they took the trip.  They had the time of their lives.   They traveled from small town Blaine, Washington and became world travelers.  She even made a scrapbook of everything they saw.

The quilt block went together very smoothly…..until the final seam.  I have to come clean.  I broke my own  “three times a charm” rule.

It took five rip outs and extra pins and a couple of “magic” words to make those final two blocks match up like a beautiful marriage.  Ah….. deep breath. DSCN4897

For all you non-quilters, the extra 1/4 inch you can see very clearly on the edges of the block will be taken up when the seam allowance is hidden with borders, once  pieced together.

So today, with the fan swirling and the sweet dog snoring near my feet, July’s beautiful block came together.

Isn’t it funny how creating one simple block can make your entire spirit dance?

Love the dance.

4 thoughts on “BOM July”

  1. Happy dancing my friend. WOW for Grandma and Grandpa Dilley. What a wonderful adventure. Dang we will have to wait another 12 years to dance their dance.

Comments are closed.